Using the Collection

The Contemporary Music Score Collection can be access through eScholarship, the University of California open access digital repository. For more information about how to use or search the collection, see the Contemporary Music Score Collection Guide.

More Information

Featured Collection Items

About the Collection

Published by the Music Library in eScholarship(opens in a new tab), the Contemporary Music Score Collection(opens in a new tab) includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series, the first open access edition of new music published by a library, and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores, an open access collaboration with the Music Library.

About the Contemporary Score Edition

The Contemporary Score Edition is published by the Music Library's Hugo and Christine Davise Fund. The publication includes the first printing of physical scores and parts and a digital score in eScholarship, the institutional repository of the University of California. Scores considered for the Edition are student scores that win Davise Prizes, UCLA faculty scores created for Davise musician and ensemble residencies, and scores created for Davise sponsored commissions or projects. For more information, please contact the Music Library(opens in a new tab).

About the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores

The Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores was a collaboration between the Kaleidoscope Chamber Orchestra(opens in a new tab) and the Music Library which empowered living composers by making their work more accessible. Kaleidoscope’s annual Call for Scores was established in 2015 to recognize the most innovative and engaging music being written today. The collaboration allowed applicants to elect to have the UCLA Library publish their submitted compositions open access on eScholarship for future performance and study.

Related News

Services & Resources

Contact a Subject Specialist