Sociology 152: Comparative Acculturation and Assimilation
Professor Waldinger
Spring 2007
Reference Sources
Changing faces, changing places : mapping Southern Californians. YRL Reference Desk, Call Number: F867 .A445 2002 Maps and statistics based on 2000 Census.
The Ethnic Quilt Population Diversity in Southern California.1997. Mulitple Locations
Maps and statistics based on 1990 Census.
Asian American Encyclopedia.1995. 6 vols. Multiple Locations.
Signed entries on topics dealing with various Asian groups in the U.S. Especially strong on cultural aspects and issues. Bibliographic references. An outstanding resource.
The Chinese in America, 1820-1973: a Chronology and Fact Book. 1974. YRL: E 184.C5 T83
Country Studies
Online versions of the Country Studies/Area Handbooks series published by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. A basic resource for an overview of a particular country. The Handbooks found here are electronic versions of studies published between 1988 and 1998, when Congress withdrew funding for this program. Funding was restored in 2004 and new editions should be coming available.
Ethnic Chronology Series. A series of 39 volumes that chronicle a variety of ethnic groups in America. In the UCLA Library Catalog, search the name as a title phrase to retrieve a list of the book titles.
Ethnicity and Migration Links "Links to web resources that provide on-line materials for teaching and research in ethnic and immigration history."
Encyclopedia of World Cultures. 10 vols. 1991-1996. Mulitple Locations.
Each volume is devoted to a geographic area and includes a cultural map for that area. There is an entry for each cultural group including information on location, linguistic affiliation, history and cultural relations, settlements, economy, kinship, marriage and family, sociopolitical organization, religion and expressive culture,
as well as a list of publications about both the traditional and current culture.
Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups. 1980.
"A guide to the history, culture, and distinctive characteristics of the more than 100 ethnic groups who live in the United States."
College Library Reference Desk: E 184 A1 H26
Martin, Philip and Midgley, Elizabeth,"Immigration: Shaping and Reshaping America". Population Bulletin 58(2), June, 2003. [Entire Issue].YRL: HB 881 A2 P82
Irangeles: Iranians in Los Angeles 1993. Multiple locations
Latino Encyclopedia. 1996. 6 vols. Multiple Locations. More than 1900 entries ranging from several paragraphs to signed full-length articles with annotated bibliographies relating to the Latino experience in the United States.
Latino profiles study report : American dream makers. 2000. YRL Reference Reading Room Call Number: F868.L8 L375 2000
Portals to the World
The Library of Congress's excellent collection of selected links to in-depth information about the nations and areas of the world. Arranged by country or area, then by categories such as "History;" "Government, Politics, and Law;" "Science and Technology;" "Society," etc.
Refugees in the United States : a Reference Handbook. (1985). Multiple Locations.
We the People: An Atlas of America's Ethnic Diversity. (1988). Multiple Locations.
Data based on the 1980 Census, this atlas maps the geographical patterns of 67 ethnic and racial groups in the U.S.
Bibliographies
Kilpinen, Jan T. American Ethnic Geography: A Selected Bibliography of the Ethnic and Cultural Geography of the United States and Canada. "Contains most of the major secondary sources prepared by geographers or which have appeared in geographical publications.”
McCutcheon, James M. China and America: A Bibliography of Interactions, Foreign and Domestic. 1972. Multiple Locations.
Selective bibliography of English-language materials. Includes sections on Chinese immigration and exclusion, and on the Chinese community in the U.S.
Online Archive of California. Finding Aid for the Collection About Immigration Research, ca. 1980-1989. Collection consists of brochures, newsletters, publications, and other printed material relating to research in immigration. Mostly includes material from U.S. institutions and organizations, i.e. Balch Institute for Ethnic Studies, American Jewish Committee, Boston University Special Collections, Immigration History Research Center at the University of Minnesota, the Swenson Swedish Immigration Research Center at Augustana College, University of Texas Population Research Center, and more.
Immigration Issues: A Bibliography
Topical list of books and government documents dealing with American immigration issues. Includes ethnic groups, e.g. Mexicans, Latin Americans, East Europeans, etc.
return to top
Books and Other Materials
Use theUCLA Library Catalog to locate materials available in the UCLA Library.
MELVYL catalog: This catalog provides information on materials owned by all UC libraries.
Especially useful for locating local and California government information.
Subject Headings
Subject headings that you can use to search UCLA Library Catalog include:
- [Country Name] Emigration and Immigration (Example: China Emigration and Immigration
- [Country Name] Americans (Example: Korean Americans
- [Group] United States (Example: Chinese United States
- Immigrants [Country Name] (example: immigrants Mexico)
- [Country Name] Emigration and Immigration (example: Croatia - Emigration and Immigration)
- Children of Immigrants [Country Name, State, City]
- Assimilation (Sociology)
- Nativism
- Acculturation
- Pluralism (Social Sciences) –United States
- Illegal Aliens California Los Angeles
- Refugees
When conducting searches using subject headings take note that they can be sub-divided by geographic area, time period, or both. In addition to subdivisions by location or time period, you may add the following sub-headings to any group or topic:
- History (example: Chinese Americans California Los Angeles History)
- Social Conditions (example: Korean Americans Social Conditions)
- Economic Conditions (example: Mexican Americans Economic Conditions
- Social Life & Customs (example: United States Social Life & Customs 20 th century)
- Cultural Assimilation (example: Asian Americans Cultural Assimilation History 20 th century)
- Biography (example: Iranian American - Biography)
The following sub-headings can be added to countries, ethnic groups, institutions, etc. to retrieve primary sources documents:
- Archives
- Correspondence
- Diaries
- History Sources
- Interviews
- Personal Narratives
return to top
Articles Databases
If you are conducting research off-campus and need access to restricted materials, such as article databases and other electronic resources, take a few minutes to set up your computer for the proxy server.
For quick instructions on this, go to the UCLA BOL Proxy Services page.
America: History and Life(UC Only)
The most comprehensive index to American (U.S. and Canada) history. Indexes over 2000 journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations.
Anthropology Plus (UC Only)
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index covers core periodicals internationally in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals from the late 19th century to the present.
Bibliography of Asian studies (UCLA Only)
Index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
Chicano Database (UC Only)
Indexes all types of materials in the areas of Mexican-American topics from 1967 to the present and, since 1992, materials on other Latino cultures.
Ethnic NewsWatch (UC Only)
Contains the complete text of articles since 1960 from over 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
Expanded Academic ASAP (UC Only)
Indexes periodicals in all subject areas from 1980 to the present, both popular & scholarly. Includes scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide (UC Only)
Indexes publications, 1970 to the present, from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work. Covers popular issues and information for professionals in the fields of social work, social science, and family practice. Many citations provide the complete text of the article.
Hispanic American Periodical Index - HAPI Online (UC Only)
Index to journals on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean and Hispanics in the U.S. from 1970 to the present.
Historical Abstracts (UC Only)
The most comprehensive index to world history (excluding that of the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Indexes over 2,000 history and history-related journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations. Search Guide available.
Index Islamicus (UCLA Only)
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews from 1906 to the present.
ISI Web of Science (UC Only)
Through the Web of Science, users can access the three ISI Citation Databases: Science Citation Index Expanded (1945- with full-text author abstracts for many items from 1991-); Social Sciences Citation Index (1956- with full-text author abstracts for many items from 1992- ; Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975- with full-text author abstracts 2001-); . Cited reference searching, unique to ISI, lets you search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
JSTOR (UC Only)
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.
Proquest Digital Dissertations (UC Only)
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1861 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Complete text of dissertations and theses from University of California campuses since 1997 is available at no charge to download in PDF format.
Project Muse (UC Only)
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts (UC Only)
Index (with abstracts)to journals in sociology from 1963 to the present.
University of Texas at Austin Libraries (All)
Includes the holdings of the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection, one of the major collections of Latin American materials in the world. Special emphasis on Mexico, Brazil, the Río de la Plata countries, and U.S. Latino culture
return to top
Yearbooks and Compilations | Guides for Decennial Census | Statistical Databases | Immigration and Migration Statistics
Statistical Yearbooks and Compiliations:
Guides for Understanding and Using the Decennial Census
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census. (2000). YRL Reference Desk, Call #HA37.U55 C66 2000
Reference Resources for Understanding Census Geography
Census 2000 Questionnaires
Includes access to the 1990 Census questionnaire and Measuring America: Decennial Census 1790-2000, contains all questionnaires.
Census 2000 Briefs Publications that are useful for introducing the public to key Census 2000 population and housing data, e.g. Hispanic Population, Ancestry, Foreign Born, etc. Each brief includes the Census question(s) from which the data are taken as well as definitions and tables on the topic.
Census 2000 Reports
Special reports that provide an in-depth analysis of Census 2000 population and housing topics, e.g. internal migration, un-married household populations.
Subjects A-Z Complete index of census subjects and topics.
Publications for Decennial Census Population and Housing Access to census reports and briefs, technical documentation, etc.
US Census Foreign Born Population
Historical Census Statistics on the Foreign-Born Population of the United States: 1850 to 1990
22 Detailed tables.
Unofficial Groupings of Los Angeles City Census Tracts by Community Census 2000 (Los Angeles Almanac)
return to top
Statistical Databases
American Fact Finder (U.S. Census Bureau)
FedStats
UCLA Center for Neighborhood Knowledge - Projects (Includes access to NKCA.)
LexisNexis Statistical (UCLA Only)
Provides comprehensive access to statistical publications and reports from over 200 federal agencies, 50 state governments, 100 international
intergovernmental organizations, and 500 private and academic sources. Statistical Universe draws from American Statistics
Index (federal statistics), Statistical Reference Index (state and private statistics), and Index to International Statistics
(international intergovernmental statistics).
SourceOECD (UCLA Only)
The online library of e-books, e-periodicals and interactive statistical databases produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
ICPSR Direct (University of Michigan) (UCLA Only)
Available to UCLA faculty, staff, and students only. ICPSR is one of the largest archives of surveys useful in secondary
analysis and quantitative research. Holdings include political and election studies, education studies, population research,
economic attitudes and behavior, social indicators, and studies on health status from the United States and many countries
worldwide. Searches of ICPSR holdings are possible using author, title, keyword or study number. Advanced and boolean search
capabilities are available. For assistance, please contact the ISSR Social Science Data Archives, libbie at ucla.edu.
* Restricted to UCLA.
Immigration and Migration Statistical Sources
Government Information
Agency Approach to Locating Government Information
Search Engines and Portals to Government Information
return to top
|