Guide to library reference sources
Norma Corral, May 2002
Last Updated: July 13, 2004
Selected Resources for Brazilian Literature
This guide was prepared with the following three courses in mind:
  • PORTUGUESE 40B, Brazilian Literature in Translation
  • PORTUGUESE 130B, Brazilian Literature & Identity, Part II
  • PORTUGUESE C135, 20th-Century Brazilian Literature
This list is intended to lead you to sources that provide useful information on a variety of issues relating to Brazilian Civilization and Literature. It illustrates the types and variety of sources that are available. Unless otherwise noted, these titles are located in YRL Reference & Instructional Services of the Young Research Library. Many other general reference sources on the Internet may be reached from the Reference Collection Online.

subject headings
In addition to the works listed here, similar sources may be found by looking under the appropriate subject headings in the UCLA Library Catalog or the MELVYL Catalog. The UCLA Library uses the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) and the Medical Subject Headings (MESH). Some useful subject headings:
  • carnival brazil
  • brazil social life customs
  • samba
  • brazil social conditions
  • blacks brazil
  • brazil race relations
  • brazilian literature
  • authors brazilian
  • nationalism brazil
  • brazilians ethnic identity

bibliographic guides
Bibliographic guides provide an overview of reference sources which might be consulted to find specific information on a topic or discipline.

  • Bleznick, Donald William. A Sourcebook for Hispanic Literature and Language. 3rd., Lanham Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1995. (Z 2695 .A2B61 1995/RIS Reading Room)

  • Guide to Reference Books. Ed. by Robert Balay, 11th ed. Chicago: American Library Association, 1996. (Z 1035 .M88g 1996/Core RIS Desk)

  • Latin America and the Caribbean: A Critical Guide to Research Sources. New York: Greenwood Press, 1992. (Z 1601 .L3225 1992/RIS Desk)

  • Woodbridge, Hensley Charles. Guide to Reference Works for the Study of the Spanish Language and Literature and Spanish American Literature. 2nd ed. New York: MLA, 1997. Series: Selected Bibliographies in Language and Literature, 5. (Z 2695 .A2W66 1997/RIS Desk)

surveys & overviews

  • Cambridge History of Latin American Literature. 3v. Cambridge ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 1996. (PQ 7081 .A1C35 1996/RIS Desk)

  • Foster, David. A Dictionary of Contemporary Latin American Authors. Tempe, Az.: Center for Latin American Studies, Arizona State University, 1975. (PQ 7081.3 .F812d/RIS Desk)

  • Foster, David. Modern Latin American Literature. New York: Ungar, 1975. 2v.
    (PQ 7081 .F812m/RIS Reading Room)

  • Handbook of Latin American Literature. Comp. By David Foster. New York: Garland Pub., 1987. (PQ 7081 .A1H36 1987/RIS Reading Room)

  • Latin American Writers. Ed. by Carlos A. Sole. New York: Scribner, 1989. 3v.
    (PQ 7081 .A1L37 1989/RIS Reading Room)

  • Modern Spanish and Portuguese Literatures. New York: Continuum, 1988.
    (PQ 6072 .M57 1988/RIS Reading Room)

bibliographies

  • Alarcón, Norma. Bibliography of Hispanic Women Writers. Bloomington, IN. : Chicano-Riqueño Studies, c1980. Series: Chicano-Riqueño Studies bibliography series ; no. 1.
    (Z 1609 .L7A45/RIS Reading Room)

  • Dickenson, John P. Brazil. Rev. ed. Oxford, Eng.; Santa Barbara, CA: Clio Press, 1997. Series: World Bibliographical Series, 57. (Z 1671 .D53 1997/RIS Reading Room)

  • Hartness, Ann. Brazil in Reference Books, 1965-1989 : An Annotated Bibliography. Metuchen, N.J.; London : Scarecrow Press, 1991. (Z 1671 .H39 1991/RIS Reading Room)

  • Levine, Robert M. Brazil, 1822-1930: An Annotated Bibliography for Social Historians. New York: Garland Pub., 1983. Series: Garland Reference Library of Social Science, 132.
    (Z 1671 .L478 1983/RIS Reading Room)

  • Levine, Robert M. Brazil Since 1930: An Annotated Bibliography for Social Historians. New York: Garland Pub., 1980. (Z 1671 .L48/RIS Reading Room)

  • Levine, Robert M. Historical Dictionary of Brazil. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1979. Series: Latin American Historical Dictionaries, no. 19. (F 2504 .L46 l979/RIS Reading Room)

  • Porter, Dorothy Burnett. Afro-Braziliana : A Working Bibliography. Boston : G. K. Hall, 1978. (Z 1697 .N4P83/RIS Reading Room)

biographical sources

  • Archivo Biografico de Espana, Portugal e Iberoamerica: Una Compilacion de 300 Obras Biograficas... and Archivo Biografico de Espana, Portugal e Iberoamerica. II. 2a. ed. Munich: Saur, 1986-1989; 1993. 2 guides. (DP 58 .A52 1986/RIS Microfiche Cabinet)

  • Biographical Resources [online]

  • Mundo Lo, Sara de. Index to Spanish American Collective Biography. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1981 c1985. 4 v. (Z 1609 .B6M86/RIS Reading Room)

encyclopedias, dictionaries & handbooks
Reference & Instructional Services (RIS) has many subject encyclopedias and dictionaries which can be found in the UCLA Library Catalog under the appropriate subject heading, sometimes with the subdivision, DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS.

  • Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean. 2nd ed. Cambridge {England} ; New York, NY, Cambridge University Press, 1992.
    (F 1406 .C36 1992/RIS Reading Room)

  • Cambridge History of Latin America. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1984-
    (F 1410 .C1834 1984/RIS Reading Room)

  • Dictionary of Brazilian Literature. New York: Greenwood Press. 1988
    (PQ 9506 .D53 1988/RIS Reading Room)

  • Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures. London:New York: Routledge, 2000. 3v. (F 1406 .E515 2000/RIS Reading Room)

  • Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. New York: Scribner’s/Simon & Schuster Macmillan. 1996. 5 vols. (F 1406 .E53 1996/RIS Reading Room)

  • Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature. London {England} ; Chicago, Ill. : Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997. (PQ 7081 .A1E56 1997/RIS Reading Room)

  • Encyclopedia of Religion. New York, NY: Macmillan, c1987. 16 v.
    (BL 31 .E46 1987/RIS Reading Room)

  • Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall, 1991-1996. 16 v.
    (GN 307 .E53 1991/RIS Reading Room)

  • Grove Dictionary of Art

  • Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians
    Also contains the New Grove Dictionary of Opera.

  • South America, Central America and the Caribbean. London: Europa, 1985-
    (F 1406.5 .S68/RIS Desk)

indexes & abstracts

  • Expanded Academic ASAP (Formerly Magazine & Journal Articles). 1980-
  • Includes many full-text articles.

  • Handbook of Latin American Studies. 1935-

  • HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index. 1975-
  • Many articles are not in English.
  • Also in print: (Z 1605 .H21/RIS Abstracts & Indexes Table)
  • Earlier coverage in:
  • Index to Latin American Periodicals, 1961-1971.
  • (Z 1601 .I38/RIS Abstracts & Indexes Table)
  • Index to Latin American Periodical Literature and Supplements, 1929-1965.
  • (Z 1601 .I379/RIS Abstracts & Indexes Table)

  • JSTOR
  • Complete text and index of core journals in the social sciences & humanities from their starting date to about 5 years ago.

  • LexisNexis Academic
  • Complete text and index of articles in newspapers and periodicals for about the last 20 years in a wide range of topics including current affairs, business, law, and medicine.
  • (Click "News" to search the widest variety of periodicals.)

  • LLBA (Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts)
  • Indexes and provides abstracts for journal articles in linguistics, language behavior and related disciplines, 1973 to the present.

  • Modern Language Association. MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures. 1963-
  • Annual. Also in print from 1921-1994: (Z 7001 .A511/RIS Reading Room).

  • Periodicals Contents Index
  • An electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Every article is indexed and there are links to full-text in JSTOR.

  • Project Muse
  • Complete text and index of current issues (from about 1990) of over 100 scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities published by Johns Hopkins University Press.

  • Web of Science
  • Online access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), with collective coverage of over 8,000 scholarly journals from 1975 to the present.

  • Leonard, Kathy S., 1952- . Index to Translated Short Fiction by Latin American Women in English Language Anthologies. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1997. Series: Bibliographies and indexes in women's studies, no. 25.
    (Z 1609 .F4L46 1997/RIS Reading Room)

book reviews

Many book reviews published may be identified in Expanded Academic ASAP since 1980.

  • Book Review Digest. New York: Wilson, 1905-   (Z 1219 .B64/ Book Review Indexes)

  • Book Review Index. Detroit: Gale, 1965-    (Z 1035 .A1B65/ Book Review Indexes)

  • Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886 - 1974.  Arlington, Va.:  Carrollton Press, 1979-   (Z 1035 .A1C65/ Book Review Indexes)

  • Guia a las Resenas de Libros de y Sobre Hispanoamerica:  A Guide to Reviews of Books From and About Hispanic America. 1960/64 - 1984.
    (Z 1035 .A1G94/ Book Review Indexes)

news sources
Newspapers and radio or television broadcasts are primary source materials that provide information on how an event was reported and analyzed as it occurred, in contrast to scholarly journal articles which might offer quite different interpretations.

  • Facts on File
  • Fulltext available on Internet from 1980 to the present.
  • Also available in print: 1941-2000 (D 410 .F119/News Indexes & Digests)

  • LexisNexis Academic
  • Full-text news, business, and legal information.