| Norma
Corral, April 2002 Last updated: June 2, 2005 |
![]() |
| The following list is intended to lead you to sources, which provide useful information on a variety of issues relating to Latin American Studies. It illustrates the types and variety of sources that are available. Unless otherwise noted, these titles are located in YRL Reference & Instructional Services (RIS) of the Young Research Library. Many other general reference sources on the Internet may be reached from the Reference Collection Online. |
|
bibliographic guides
|
Bibliographic guides provide an overview of reference sources which
might be consulted to find specific information on a topic or discipline.
|
|
encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks
|
|
|
directories
|
|
|
bibliographies
|
|
|
biography
|
|
|
library catalogs
|
Many libraries have special collections which provide rich sources of
information for scholars in other locations. In order to make the
contents of these collections accessible, their catalogs have been published
in book form and are now accessible on the Internet. Two major Latin
American collections are the Hispanic
Division of the Library of Congress and the University
of Texas at Austin Benson Latin American Collection. The Benson
Collection has a rich collection with an emphasis on Mexico.
|
|
indexes & abstracts
|
|
|
news sources
|
Newspapers and radio or television broadcasts are primary source materials
that provide information on how an event was reported and analyzed as
it occurred, in contrast to scholarly journal articles which might offer
quite different interpretations.
|
book reviews |
Many book reviews published may be identified in Current
Contents since 1993 and Expanded
Academic ASAP since 1980.
|
government documents & statistics |
|