Research Resources for International Development Studies (under construction)
Reference Sources
Books and Other Materials
Use theUCLA Library Catalog to locate materials available in the UCLA Library.
MELVYL catalog: This catalog provides information on materials owned by all UC libraries.
Especially useful for locating local and California government information.
Some Key Terms
Keywords and Subject headings that you can use to search UCLA Library Catalog include:
- development studies / international development / international development studies
- developing countries / third world
- early warning systems
- economic development / debt relief / globalization / structural adjustment / economic policy / heavily indebted poor countries (HIPC)
- education for development
- food security / food systems / agricultural development / farming systems
- good governance / transparency / democracy / democratization
- indigenous knowledge / appropriate technology
- natural resources management / water supply / energy(or power) supply / firewood / fuelwood
- rural development / community development
- sustainable development
When conducting searches using subject headings take note that they can be sub-divided by geographic area, time period, or both. In addition to subdivisions by location or time period, you may add the following sub-headings to any group or topic:
- History
- Social Conditions
- Economic Conditions
- Social Life & Customs
The following sub-headings can be added to countries, ethnic groups, institutions, etc. to retrieve primary sources documents:
- Archives
- Correspondence
- Diaries
- History Sources
- Interviews
- Personal Narratives
return to top
Articles Databases
If you are conducting research off-campus and need access to restricted materials, such as article databases and other electronic resources, take a few minutes to set up your computer for the proxy server.
For quick instructions on this, go to the UCLA BOL Proxy Services page.
Anthropology Plus (UC Only)
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index covers core periodicals internationally in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals from the late 19th century to the present.
Bibliography of Asian studies (UCLA Only)
Index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
Ethnic NewsWatch (UC Only)
Contains the complete text of articles since 1960 from over 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
EBSCO Academic Search Complete (UC Only)
Indexes periodicals in all subject areas from 1980 to the present, both popular & scholarly. Includes scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide (UC Only)
Indexes publications, 1970 to the present, from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work. Covers popular issues and information for professionals in the fields of social work, social science, and family practice. Many citations provide the complete text of the article.
Hispanic American Periodical Index - HAPI Online (UC Only)
Index to journals on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean and Hispanics in the U.S. from 1970 to the present.
Historical Abstracts (UC Only)
The most comprehensive index to world history (excluding that of the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Indexes over 2,000 history and history-related journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations. Search Guide available.
Index Islamicus (UCLA Only)
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews from 1906 to the present.
ISI Web of Science (UC Only)
Through the Web of Science, users can access the three ISI Citation Databases: Science Citation Index Expanded (1945- with full-text author abstracts for many items from 1991-); Social Sciences Citation Index (1956- with full-text author abstracts for many items from 1992- ; Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975- with full-text author abstracts 2001-); . Cited reference searching, unique to ISI, lets you search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
JSTOR (UC Only)
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.
Proquest Digital Dissertations (UC Only)
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1861 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Complete text of dissertations and theses from University of California campuses since 1997 is available at no charge to download in PDF format.
Project Muse (UC Only)
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts (UC Only)
Index (with abstracts)to journals in sociology from 1963 to the present.
return to top
Selected Periodicals
Ceres: FAO Review on Agriculture and Development
Development
Development and Change
Ecoforum
Ecology of Food and Nutrition
Globalization
IDS Bulletin
Journal of Developing Areas
The Journal of Development Studies
Resources: A journal for sustainable development in Africa
Third World Quarterly
The Women and International Development Annual
World Development
Organizations
Canadian International Development Agency
Earthscan
Environment and Development Action in the Third World (ENDA)
Finnish International Development Agency
International Food and Agricultural Development
International Labour Organization
International Union for Conservation of Nature (a.k.a. World Conservation Union)
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)
Oxfam
Society for International Development
Swedish International Development Agency
United Nations
FAO – Food and Agriculture Organization
UNCED – United Nations Conference on Environment and Development
UNDP – United Nations Development Programme
UNEP – United Nations Environment Programme
UNICEF – United Nations Children’s Fund
UNIFEM – United Nations Development Fund for Women
WHO – World Health Organization
U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID)
Center for Development Impact and Evaluation
Office of Women in Development
World Trade Organization (WTO)
Financial Institutions
Regional development banks (African / Asian / Inter-American, Development Bank)
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
World Bank Group
Research Institutions
Environment Liaison Centre International (ELCI)
Institute for African Alternatives
Institute for Development Anthropology
Institute for Development Research, Amsterdam, Netherlands
Institute for Development Studies (IDS), University of Sussex, England
Institute of Current World Affairs, NH
International Center for Research on Women (ICRW)
International Development Research Centre (IDRC)
International Institute for Environment and Development
International Research and Training Institute for the Advancement of Women
International Rural Development Center, Sweden
Overseas Development Institute
Royal Tropical Institute ( Netherlands)
Winrock International (Institute for Agricultural Development)
|