General Reference Sources and Guides
Reference Sources
- The Europa Year Book 1959 - 1988
Call Number: D904.E93 - YRL Stacks, 1968-1988/ SRLF, 1959-1986
- Europa World Year Book 1989-current
Call Number: D904.E93 - YRL Reference Desk, Latest edition/YRL Stacks, 1989-2004
- New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics(1998). 3 volumes
YRL Reference Reading Room, Call Number: K487.E3 N48 1998
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History (2003). 5 volumes
YRL Reference Reading Room, Call Number: HC15 .O94 2003
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies,(2002). Volume 4 covers Europe
YRL Reference Reading Room, Call Number: HC15 .W67 2002
- Internet Modern History Source Book (Fordham University)
- Reference Sources (General
Online Reference Resources from the Research Library)
- Search Economic Terms A-Z
(Economist.com)
- Glossary of Economic Terms (U.S.
Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco)
- Economic History Net
- WWW Virtual Library Library: Economic and Business History
Guides
Books and Other Materials
Search the UCLA Library Catalog, Melvyl,
WorldCat and RLG Union Catalog to find books, reports and other
sources on your topic.
Some suggested subject headings:
- [name of country or region] Economic Conditions (ex.: Italy Economic Conditions)
- [name of country or region] Economic Policy
- [name of country or region] History
- [name of country or region] Politics and Government
- Agriculture [name of country or region]
- Consumption (Economics)
- Cost and Standard of living
- Economic History Statistics
- Europe Economic conditions 20th century
- Finance [name of country or region] Statistics
|
- Gross national product [name of country or region]
- Imperialism
- Industrialization
- International finance Statistics
- International economic relations History 20th century
- Industries [name of country or region]
- Industrial Organization [name of country or region]
- Labor [name of country or region]
- National Income [name of country or region]
- Unemployment [name of country or region]
|
Historical Abstracts
Index and abstracts for articles on the
history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History
and Life) published since 1967. *Restricted to UC.
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES)
Covers North American scholarship since the late 1980s on Eastern Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications. * Restricted to UCLA.
British Humanities Index (1962 - present) London : The Library Association.
YRL Reference Reading Room, Call Number: AI3 .S941
JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities,
mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. * Restricted to UC.
PAIS Archive
Provides international coverage of citations to articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics, from 1915-1976. * Restricted to UC.
PAIS International
Provides international coverage to articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics, from 1972 to the present. * Restricted to UC.
Periodicals Archive Online
Index to millions of articles published in 4,547 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from 1770 to 1995,
including full text for 200 complete journal runs. * Restricted to UC.
Project Muse
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts,
humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. *Restricted to UC.
Reader's Guide Retrospective
Provides searchable access and comprehansive indexing of more than 100 years of cultural history from 375 leading magazines
from 1890 to 1982. Primarily American sources, but includes some British as well. *Restricted to UC.
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) via ISI Web of Knowledge
Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences published since 1956. *Restricted to UC.
Russian National Bibliography (UDB-BIB)
Universal Database of Russian National Bibliography (UDB-BIB) for Russian printed works by the Russian Book Chamber (Knizhnaia Palata); covers publications from over 20,000 publishers. Includes citations for books, newspaper articles, journal articles, book reviews, maps, dissertation abstracts, sheet music, art works; includes a list of all Russian periodicals and continuing publications; searchable in transliteration (LC) or Cyrillic. *Restricted to UC.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Provides an abstract database containing abstracts on over 88,300 scholarly working papers and also provides forthcoming
papers and an electronic paper collection currently containing over 62,500 downloadable full text documents.
History Article Databases
Economics Article
Databases
Slavic and East European
Studies Article Databases
Selected Primary Sources
Documents of European Economic History (1968-1972), Volume 1. The process of industrialization,
1750-1870; Volume2. Industrial Power and National Rivalry, 1870-1914; Volume 3. The End of old Europe, 1914-1939
YRL and College Library, Call Number: HC240 .P763d 1968
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European
History A guide that provides links to Western European primary historical documents that are transcribed,
reproduced in facsimile, or translated AND available online.
Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of [name of country or region]
Publications relating to the Internal Affairs of other states generally include dispatches, instructions, and miscellaneous
correspondence dealing with topics such as political affairs and government; public order and safety; military affairs;
social matters (including history and culture); economic conditions (including immigration and emigration); industry and
agriculture; communications and transportation; and navigation.
Search the Library Catalog for the above microfilm series.
Other suggested subject headings to locate primary sources in the Library Catalog:
[name of country] politics government sources
[name of country] history sources
Statistics & Data
Some key economic indicators:
- Balance of Payments
- Balance of Trade
- Gross National Product (GNP)
- Gross Domestic Product
- Gross Material Product
- National Income
- National Accounts - GDP, GNP
- Consumer Price Index (CPI)
- Producer Price Index (PPI)
- Unemployment Rate
For definitions of these terms use:
Guides to International Statistical Sources
Directory of International Statistics (1982),
Management Reference, Call Number: Z7551 .U58d 1982
ECO5.com Historical Data Resource pages available for
Germany, UK, France and Europe. This resource will help you locate statistical agencies from each of the countries that
collect economic data. Most sources are in the country's language.
Guide to Official Publications of Foreign Countries 2nd ed. (1997),
YRL Reference Desk, Call Number: Z7164.G7 G83 1997
The International Financial Statistics Locator : a Research and Information Guide (1995),
Management Reference, Call Number: HG151.7 .B37 1995
InStat: International Statistics Sources : Subject Guide to Sources of International Comparative Statistics
(1995), Management Reference, Call Number: Z7551 .I42 1995
Liber8: International Economic
Indicators From the St. Louis Federal Reserve Bank. Use the IES Database to locate economic indicators by country.
Many countries have statistics online back to 1970's.
List of statistical series collected by international organizations (1951),
YRL Stacks Oversize*, Call Number: * Z7551 .U58l
Macroeconomic Time Series Data Source Locator (University
of Chicago Library)
Use this database to locate data sources by Time Period, Geographic Region and Variables. After
you have located a source, look up the title in the UCLA Library
Catalog
Statistical Resources on the Web: Comprehensive
Economics (University of Michigan)
Statistical Resources on the Web: Foreign and
International Economics (University of Michigan)
World and Non-U.S. Data (Resources for Economists)
Statistical Year Books and Compiliations:
International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-2000. 5th ed. (2003)
YRL Reference Desk, Call Number: HA1107 .M5 2003
National Publications and Statistical Yearbooks, Current Statistics and Internet Sites
Search the Library Catalog for earlier Statistical Year Books from
foreign countries. *Note: these publications will typically be in the country's language. Some include tables in English.
Subject List (start of): [name of country or region] statistics
Subject List (start of): [name of country or region] statistics periodicals
Subject List: [name of country or region] statistics
Keyword search: [name of country or region] statistic? yearbook
United Nations Demographic yearbook. Annuaire de´mographique. 1948-current
YRL Reference Reading Room, Call Number: HB881.D39
United Nations Statistics Division, Statistical
Databases Free access to a variety of UN Demograhpic databases.
United Nations Statistical yearbook. Annuaire statistique. 1948-current
YRL Reference Reading Room, Call Number: HC59 .A19
United Nations, National income statistics of various countries. 1938-1947, YRL HC58 .U47n, and SRLF
National income statistics of various countries, 1938-1947, YRL Oversize * HC79.I5 N37 1951
United Nations National Accounts Series
Use the Library catalog to look up the following titles.
Holdings are available at YRL, SRLF, and Management.
- Statistics of national income and expenditure, 1952-1957
- Yearbook of national accounts statistics, 1957-1981
- National accounts statistics. Analysis of main aggregates, 1982-current
- National accounts statistics. Main aggregates and detailed tables, 1982-current
- National accounts statistics. Government accounts and tables, 1982-current
- United Nations National Accounts Main
Aggregates DatabaseFind GDP, GNI, and Aggregate Economic Activity for countries back to 1970.
- SourceOECD, National accounts database, time series
statistics 1970-2001. *Restricted to UC.
International Monetary Fund, International Financial Statistics. 1948 - current
YRL Stacks, Call Number YRL HG 3881.I62
Statistical Databases
LexisNexis Statistical
Provides comprehensive access to statistical publications and reports from over 200 federal agencies, 50 state governments, 100 international
intergovernmental organizations, and 500 private and academic sources. Statistical Universe draws from American Statistics
Index (federal statistics), Statistical Reference Index (state and private statistics), and Index to International Statistics
(international intergovernmental statistics). * Restricted to UCLA.
ICPSR Direct (University of Michigan)
Available to UCLA faculty, staff, and students only. ICPSR is one of the largest archives of surveys useful in secondary
analysis and quantitative research. Holdings include political and election studies, education studies, population research,
economic attitudes and behavior, social indicators, and studies on health status from the United States and many countries
worldwide. Searches of ICPSR holdings are possible using author, title, keyword or study number. Advanced and boolean search
capabilities are available. For assistance, please contact the ISSR Social Science Data Archives, libbie at ucla.edu.
* Restricted to UCLA.
NBER Macrohistory Database
An extensive data set that covers all aspects of the pre-WWI and interwar economies, including production, construction,
employment, money, prices, asset market transactions, foreign trade, and government activity. Many series are highly
disaggregated, and many exist at the monthly or quarterly frequency. The data set has some coverage of the United Kingdom,
France and Germany, although it predominantly covers the United States.
SourceOECD
The online library of e-books, e-periodicals and interactive
statistical databases produced by the Organisation for Economic
Co-operation and Development (OECD). * Restricted to UCLA.
United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (COMTRADE)
Annual international trade statistics, provided by over 130 countries, detailed by commodity and partner country to the
United Nations. All values are converted in US dollars and metric units, with coverage from 1962. * Restricted to UCLA.
United Nations Common Database(UNCDB)
More than 450 statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-
demographic topics. Descriptions of the international sources and definitions used in compiling the data are included. * Restricted to UCLA.
Universal Database of Statistical Publications (UDB-STAT)
Russian and English-language publications, reports and data sets from the State Committee of the Russian Federation on Statistics and the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States; searchable in transliteration (LC) or Cyrillic. * Restricted to UCLA.
|