History 191C-3
A
Golden Age? Assessing Elizabethan
Fall 2006
Library Research
Guide
Ellen Broidy
Librarian for Anglo-American History
825-1324
This guide is designed as an introduction to print ("real") and online ("virtual") resources critical for accessing materials on topics in Elizabethan history at the UCLA Library, especially those useful for completing the third paper assignment for History 191C. It is extremely selective, both in terms of the sources cited and the research strategies recommended. In other words, there is a lot more out there
I.
Primary Sources
Your assignment requires you to identify and analyze a primary source on any aspect of Elizabethan England that interests you. This is a two-step process: first, selecting a topic and then identifying a primary source on that topic.
Primary sources increasingly appear in digital as well as print (hardcopy) formats. Here are some suggested strategies for identifying primary documents as well as actual “repositories” of these materials.
a.
Using the UCLA Online
Catalog
http://catalog.library.ucla.edu
The online catalog (or OPAC) is the front door to UCLA’s vast collections. It lists our holdings by author, title, keyword(s) and Library of Congress Subject Headings.
Try these keywords to locate primary materials on Elizabethan England:
Elizabethan England sources
Queen Elizabeth I sources
Tudor documents
Public record office
In fact, adding the terms “sources” or “documents” to any keyword search is a good way to identify/retrieve primary materials.
You might also want to search by Library of Congress Subject Headings: Here are some examples:
Remember, I said the guide was selective so experiment!
b.
Significant print
collection
Statutes of the Realm
**K24 .G79s (double oversize; shelved at north end of the 4th floor)
Volumes contain all Acts of
Parliament for
Calendars of State Papers,
Domestic series, of the reigns of Edward VI, Mary,
*DA25 .C1 D65 (oversize)
Volumes 1-5 cover
c.
Digital Primary Sources
The UCLA Library provides access to extraordinary digital resources, some of which are digitized (and fully searchable) versions of important primary materials. Among the most useful for this course are:
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile
page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland,
Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from
1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through
the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
EuroDocs Primary Historical Documents from
http://eudocs.lib.byu.edu/index.php/Main_Page
British History Online
http://www.british-history.ac.uk/
This is a gateway site to primary
and secondary source materials on Medieval and Early Modern Britain. It is
organized both topically and geographically. It includes primary source
material published by the History of Parliament Trust, the Centre for
Metropolitan History and the
II.
Secondary Sources
The assignment also requires you to
produce a short bibliography of secondary works on your chosen topic. Here, too, you will be able to make use of
print and digital resources.
a. Books and other print sources
For books (monographs), return to
the UCLA Catalog and once again try using keyword and/or subject searching to
identify relevant materials. If you have already read something by a particular
author, you might want to do an author search to see if that author has written
anything else on your topic.
If you choose the subject heading
route, here are some possible headings:
Catholics –
Elizabeth I – queen of
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 –
authorship
Note: although I used upper case
letters, it’s far easier (and faster) to type everything in lower case when
searching the OPAC.
b. Scholarly articles
Historical Abstracts
The "world's leading historical bibliography" covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present. Database contains citations to over 1,700 journals as well as books, and dissertations.
JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.
History Cooperative
http://www.historycooperative.org
Fully indexed, searchable digital versions
of key journals in History, including American Historical Review, Journal of
Social History, Journal of World History.
Project Muse
http://muse.jhu.edu/index.html
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. You can search by subject or browse a journal title.
Journals of interest in Muse include:
English Literary History (ELH)
Journal of Interdisciplinary
History
Journal of Medieval and Early
Modern Studies
Journal of the History of Ideas
Shakespeare Quarterly
ejb10/06