History 124B

History of France, 1799-1900

Professor Caroline Ford

Winter 2006

The Campagne de France, 1814 by Ernest Meissonier

Find Books
Find Articles
Picture Books on 19th Century France
Historical Maps of 19th Century France
Documentary and Feature Films
Interesting Sites on the Internet

This page has been compiled by Katalin Radics, Librarian for Western European Studies:Katalin Radics

Find Books

Books that deal with the topic of this course can be found in the following UCLA Libraries:

The Library Mapshows the exact locations of these libraries.

Basic Searches in the Library Catalog

The UCLA Library Catalog includes records of all kinds of library materials (except for films) held in the libraries listed above as well as other UCLA libraries. A 2.5 minute long film explains the basic search strategies in the UCLA Library catalog for you. Click on English or any other preferred language in order to start the movie.

More Advanced Searches in the Catalog

Most of the records in the catalog have subject headings indicating the topic of the book, periodical, etc. Subject headings are the best search terms for more advanced searching. The following are among the good subject headings for the historical period discussed in the class:

FRANCE HISTORY 19TH CENTURY
FRANCE HISTORY 1789-1815
FRANCE HISTORY 1848-1870

Find Articles

Your computer at home has to be configured with the BOL Proxy Server in order to access licensed databases (i.e. databases for which the UCLA Library pays a subscription price).

There are several ways to find articles for a research topic:

  1. The following two scholarly journals include a large number of articles about 19th Century France.
  2. If you have a citation and want to find the text: search for the TITLE OF THE JOURNAL in the UCLA Library catalog. The catalog will show if we have online access to the journal. Follow the link if we do. If we do not have online access, find the journal in the stacks or current periodicls stacks. The call number will show where you can find the journal. Look for the volume, year, issue, page number. If the journal is held in the YRL, look up the floor plan to see where the call number range is located. Current issues are stored on the shelves on the first floor (blue area on the floor plan of the first floor).
  3. If you do not have citations, but want to find articles on a certain topic, use the FULL TEXT ARTICLE DATABASES. The following two are rich resources for 19th century French history:
  4. If you want to find more articles, use BIBLIOGRAPHIC DATABASES. These do not have the full texts of the articles, only complete citations (author, title, journal title, volume, page numbers), and sometimes abstracts of the articles. The following two databases are rich in materials about European history:

 back to contents

Picture Books on 19th Century France

If you want to find books with a large number of illustrations, please add the word “pictorial” to your search. This is the subject heading libraries use for book with more than 60 % illustrations.

Catherine Clerc: La caricature contre Napoléon. [Paris] : Editions Promodis, c1985. 319 p., ill. (some col.) ; 25 cm. – YRL DC203.4 .C57 1985

Daumier, 1808-1879. Ottawa : National Gallery of Canada, c1999. 599 p., ill. (some col.), ports. ; 31 cm. - Arts Library Oversize N6853 D3 A4 1999 *

Jules Séeberger: Jardins parisiens à la Belle Epoque. Paris : Monum, Editions du patrimoine, c2004.158 p. ill. ; 18 x 24 cm. - YRL

Les humoristes : 1830-1930/ préface de Jean-Pierre Dhainault. Paris : Editions de l'Amateur, c1999. 958 p. : chiefly ill. ; 23 cm. - Arts Library NC1495 .H86 1999

Jacques Boudet: L'histoire de France par l'image / Jacques Boudet; préf.d'Arthur Conte. [Paris?] : Bordas, 1982.3 v. ill. (some col.) ; 33 cm. Contents: v. 1. Des origines à Louis XIII -- v. 2. De Louis XIV à la Révolution de 1848 -- v. 3. De Napoléon III à nos jours.- SRLF and YRL Stacks Oversize DC38 .B683 1982 *

Paris fashions of the 1890s : a picture source book with 350 designs, including 24 in full color / edited by Stella Blum. New York : Dover, 1984. 88 p., [8] p. of plates, chiefly ill. (some col.) ; 31 cm. - Arts Library Oversize GT887 .P27 1984 *

 back to contents

Historical Maps of 19th Century France

Atlas historique de la France. Préface de Pierre Miguel. [Paris] : Plon, c1985. 150 p. col. Maps; 30cm. - SRLF and YRL Stacks Oversize G1844.21.S1.A8 1985 *

Historical Atlas. The Development of Europe’s Modern States

France, 1789

Documentary and Feature Films on 19th Century France

The films listed are available at commercial rental companies.

Documentaries

The French Revolution 2004
Napoleon Bonaparte: The Glory of France 1997

 back to contents

Feature Films

The Battle of Austerlitz 1960. An epic production with an international cast (Claudia Cardinale, Orson Welles, Vittorio de Sica, Jean-Louis Trintignant). English dubbed. 118 minutes.

La Belle Helène 2000. Offenbach's three-act opera satirically depicting the social customes of the Parisian upper classes during the Second Empire (with Felicity Lott, Francoise Le Roux, Michel Senechal and Yann Beuron). French with English subtitles, 126 minutes.

La Bohème 1982. Opera set in the middle of the 19th century in Paris. 141min, Franco Zefirelli production of Puccini’s work with the Metropolitan Opera.

Colonel Chabert 1992. From the novel by Honore de Balzac. (Features Gerard Depardieu, Fanny Ardant, Fabrice Luchini and Andre Dussollier). French with English subtitles, 111 minutes.

Cousin Bette 1998. Satire based on the writings of Honor de Balzac. (Features Jessica Lange, Hugh Laurie, Elisabeth Shue).

Germinal 1994. Based on the 1884 novel by Emile Zola. This film tells the story of coal miners in Northern France in the 19th Century. Features Gerard Depardieu, Renaud, Judith Henry.) In French with English subtitles, 160 minutes Gervaise 1992. Adaptation of Zola’s L’Assomoire (with Maria Schell and François Perier). 116 minutes.

Jean Renoir: French Can-can 1956. About the opening of the night-club Moulin Rouge. (Features Jean Gabin, includes a cameo by the famous chanson singer Edith Piaf.) 102 minutes.

The Life of Emile Zola 1937. About Zola’s friendship with Paul Cezanne, and the infamous Dreyfus affair. (Paul Muni, Vladimir Sokoloff, Joseph Schildkraut) 116 minutes.

Madame Bovary 1991. Adaptation of the Gustave Flaubert novel by Director Claude Chabrol. (Features Isbelle Huppert) 160 minutes. There are several earlier adaptations, e.g. by Jean Renoir 1933, Vincente Minnelli 1949.

Napoleon 1955. Orson Welles, Maria Schell, Yves Montand, and Erich fon Stroheim star in this biography of Napoleon. 115 minutes.

 back to contents

Interesting Sites on the Internet

Liberty, Fraternity, Equality – Exploring the French Revolution
Balzac’s Paris – A Guided Tour
WebMuseum Paris History
Napoleon
Georges Haussmann
Marx Engels Image Library
Marx and Engels’ Writings
The Siege and Commune of Paris 1870-1871
Online Resources 19th Century France

 back to contents

Page created and maintained by Katalin Radics, Subject Specialist for Western European Studies
Last updated: December 2005 © Regents of the University of California