- UCLA Library Catalog
- Melvyl
(UC Libraries catalog)
- WorldCat
- Article Databases
- Reference Collection Online
- Online Materials
- Purchase
Recommendation
- Interlibrary
Loan
-
- Campus
Libraries
- UCLA Library Home
- UCLA Home
- YRL Home
-
-
|
|
The following list is intended to lead you to sources, which provide useful information on a variety of issues relating to the Latino community in the 20th century. It illustrates the types and variety of sources that are available. Unless otherwise noted, these titles are located in Reference & Instructional Services of the Young Research Library. Additional resources may be found in the YRL Stacks and Special Collections. Many other general reference sources on the Internet may be reached from the Reference Collection Online.
The UCLA Library uses the Library
of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) and the Medical
Subject Headings (MeSH). LCSH does not use the term , latino(s)
it uses the term hispanic americans. In addition,
mexican americans is used for chicanos.
Other subject terms that might be useful in the UCLA Library Catalog
are:
- Mexican Americans - civil rights
- Mexican Americans - education
- Mexican Americans - ethnic identity
- Mexican Americans - social conditions
- Hispanic Americans - employment
- Hispanic Americans - ethnic identity
- Hispanic Americans - services for
- Hispanic Americans - suffrage
- Hispanic American civic leaders
- Hispanic American families
- Hispanic American leadership
- Hispanic American neighborhoods
- Hispanic American politicians
- Foreign trade and employment - north america
- Free trade - north america
- Mexican american border region - economic conditions
- United states - foreign economic relations - mexico
top of page
- Almanac of American Politics.
New York: E.P. Dutton, 1972-
- YRL Reference Desk: JK 1012 .A445
- Older editions are in the YRL Reference Reading Room.
- California Political Almanac.
1989/90-
- YRL Reference Desk: JK 8701 .A445
- Older editions in the YRL stacks.
- Congressional Staff Directory.
Mount Vernon, VA: Congressional Staff Directory, 1959-
- YRL Reference Desk: JK 1012 .C76
- Older editions in the YRL stacks
- National Directory of Latino Elected
Officials. 1996- Washington, D.C. : NALEO Educational Fund.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: E 184 .S75N38 1997
- United States Government Manual.
Washington, DC: Office of the Federal Register, 1960-
- YRL Reference Desk: JK 421 .A3
- Older editions are in the YRL stacks.
top of page
Reference & Instructional Services has
many subject encyclopedias and dictionaries which can be found in the UCLA Library Catalog
under the appropriate subject heading, sometimes with the subdivision,
dictionaries and encyclopedias
- American Immigrant Cultures: Builders
of a Nation. NY: Simon & Schuster Macmillan, 1997 2v.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: E 184 .A1A63448 1997
- Borderlands Sourcebook: A Guide to
the Literature on Northern Mexico and the American Southwest.
Edited by Ellwyn R. Stoddard, Richard L. Nostrand, and Jonathan P. West.
Norman : University of Oklahoma Press, 1983.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: Z 1251 .S8B67 1983
- Brune, Lester H. Chronological History
of United States Foreign Relations. New York: Garland, 1985-1991.
3 v.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: E 183.7 .B745 1985
- Cambridge History of Latin America.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1984- .
- YRL Reference Reading Room: F 1410 .C1834 1984
- Chronology of Hispanic American History:
From Pre-Columbian Times to the Present. Detroit: Gale Research,
1995.
- YRL Reference Desk: E 184 .S75C49 1995
- Enciclopedia de Mexico. 3
ed. rev. Ciudad de Mexico : Enciclopedia de Mexico, 1996. 15 v.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: F 1204 .E46 1996
- Encyclopedia of American Foreign
Policy : Studies of the Principal Movements and Ideas / Alexander
DeConde, editor. New York : Scribner, c1978.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: JX 1407 .E5615
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin
American and Caribbean Cultures. 3 vols. London ; New York :
Routledge, 2000.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: F 1406 .E515 2000
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History
and Culture. New York: Scribner's/Simon & Schuster Macmillan.
1996. 5 vols.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: F 1406 .E53 1996
- Encyclopedia of the American Legislative
System: Studies of the Principal Structures, Processes, and Policies.
NY: Scribner's, 1994. 3v.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: JF 501 .E53 1994
- Encyclopedia of the United States
in the Twentieth Century. NY: Scribner's, 1996. 5v.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: E 740.7 .E53 1996
- Encyclopedia of American Social History.
Ed. by Mary K. Cayton. New York:Scribner, 1993. 3 v.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: HN 57 .E58 1993
- Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in
the United States: Sociology. Houston, TX.: Arte Publico Press,
1994.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: E 184 .S75H365 1993 v.4
- Hispanic American Almanac: A Reference
Work on Hispanics in the United States. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale
Research, 1997.
- YRL Reference Desk: E 184 .S75H557 1997
- Latino Encyclopedia. Ed. by
Richard Chabrán and Rafael Chabrán. New York : Marshall Cavendish, 1996.
6 v.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: E 184 .S75L357 1996
- Meier, Matt S. Dictionary of Mexican
American History. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1981.
- YRL Reference Desk: E 184 .M5M453
- Meier, Matt S. & Margo Gutierrez. Encyclopedia
of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement. Wesport, Conn.:
Greenwood Press, 2000.
- YRL Reference Desk: E 184 .M5M458 2000
- Meier, Matt S. Mexican American Biographies:
A Historical Dictionary, 1836-1987. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood
Press, 1988.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: E 184 .M5M454 1988
- Miller, E. Willard. United States
Immigration: A Reference Handbook. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO,
1996.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: JV 6465 .M55 1996
- Rosenberg, Jerry M. Encyclopedia
of the North American Free Trade Agreement, the New American Community,
and Latin American Trade. Westport, Con.: Greenwood Press, 1995.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: HC 94 .R668 1995
- South America, Central America and
the Caribbean. London: Europa, 1985-
- YRL Reference Desk: F 1406.5 .S68
top of page
- America: History
and Life. 1964-
- Indexes articles, books, dissertations about all
aspects of US history.
- Chicano
Database. 1967-
- LexisNexis Congressional
- Full text of U.S. legislative documents.
- Expanded
Academic ASAP (Formerly Magazine & Journal Articles). 1980-
- Includes many full-text articles.
- GPO Access
- Access to Full Text Government Information from
the U.S. Government Printing Office.
- Handbook of Latin
American Studies. 1935-
- Indexes scholarly works on Latin America from
1935 to the present, covering social sciences and humanities in alternating
years.
- Also available in print
- YRL Reference Abstracts & Indexes: Z 1601 .H19L
- HAPI: Hispanic
American Periodicals Index. 1975-
- Many articles are not in English.
- Also Available in print:
- YRL Reference Abstracts & Indexes: Z 1605 .H21
- Earlier coverage in: Index to Latin American Periodicals,
1961-1971 and Index to Latin American Periodical Literature and
Supplements, 1929-1965.
- YRL Reference Abstracts & Indexes: Z 1601 .I38
- YRL Reference Abstracts & Indexes: Z 1601 .I379
- Historical Abstracts.
1960-
- Indexes articles, books, dissertations about all
aspects of world history since 1450 except for the United States.
- JSTOR
- Full text content of core journals in the social
sciences, humanities and mathematics. Journals complete from their beginning
to approximately five years ago.
- PAIS
International (Public Affairs Information Service)
- Index (with abstracts since 1985) to articles,
books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and
political policy, political science, public administration, current
affairs, and related topics, from 1972 to the present.
- Periodicals Contents
Index
- An electronic index to the contents of thousands
of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first
issues to 1995. Every article is indexed and there are links to full-text
in JSTOR.
- Project Muse
- Full-text recent volumes of over 100 scholarly
journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- Web of Science
- Online access to Science Citation Index Expanded,
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Citation
Index (AHCI), with collective coverage of over 8,000 scholarly journals
from 1975 to the present
- Women's Studies
International
- Combined access to several women's studies databases
from 1972 to the present, including Women Studies Abstracts, Women's
Studies Database, POPLINE, and Women of Color. Covers feminism, history,
ethnic studies, health, social sciences, U.S. and worldwide.
- World agricultural economics and
Rural Sociology Abstracts. 1959-
- YRL Reference Reading Room: HD 1401 893
top of page
- Meier, Matt S. A Bibliography for
Chicano History. San Francisco, R and E Research Associates,
1972.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: Z 1361 .M5M47b
- Metz, Allan. A NAFTA Bibliography.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1996.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: KD Z944 .A12 M48
top of page
Newspapers and radio or television broadcasts are primary source materials
that provide information on how an event was reported and analyzed as it
occurred, in contrast to scholarly journal articles which might offer quite
different interpretations.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- Contains the complete text of articles since 1990
from 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press, along
with archival material dating back to the mid 1980's. Covers news, culture,
and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Facts
on File
- Full-text available on the Internet from 1980
as Facts.com. World News Digest.
- Also available in print from 1941-
- YRL Reference News Indexes & Digests: D 410 .F119
- ISLA: Information Services on Latin
America. 1972.
- YRL Reference News Indexes & Digests: F 1401
.I82
- Clippings of Latin American political, social,
and economic news from various English language newspapers, including
the Los Angeles Times, the Washington Post, and the Miami Herald.
- The most recent six months of ISLA are in YRL Reference,
the earlier volumes are in the YRL Stacks, 4th floor.
- Keesing's Record of World Events.
1931-
- YRL Reference News Indexes & Digests: D 410 .K258
- LexisNexis Academic
- Full-text news, business, and legal information.
top of page
- California Latino Demographic Databook.
2nd ed. Berkeley, CA: California Policy Seminar, 1998.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: F 870 .S75C35 1998
- California Statistical Abstract.
1958-
- YRL Reference Desk: HA 261 .A23
- Older editions in the YRL stacks.
- Changing America: Indicators of Social
and Economic Well-Being by Race and Hispanic Origin. By the Council
of Economic Advisers for the President's Initiative on Race. Washington,
D.C., 1998.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: E 184 .A1C43 1998
- Condition of Education. 1975+
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Education, Office of Educational Research
and Improvement, National Center for Education Statistics.
- YRL Reference Desk: L 112 .N213c
- Also available ONLINE
from 1989+
- Digest of Education Statistics.
Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Education, Office of Educational Research
and Improvement.
- YRL Reference Desk: L 112 .U58d
- Older editions in the YRL Reference Reading Room and
YRL stacks.
- Also available ONLINE
from 1990+
- Mitchell, B.K. International Historical
Statistics; the Americas 1750-1993. 3rd ed. New York : Stockton
Press, 1998.
- YRL Reference Desk: HA 175 .M55 1998
- Provides statistics on Latin Americans in the
United States.
- Statistical Abstract of Latin America.
1955.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: HA 931 .C12
- Major social, economic, and vital statistics data
are presented in this source. Thematic essays on topics of current interest,
such as Mexico's 1982 financial crisis, are included.
- Beginning in 1970 a supplement series focusing on specific topics
was published.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: HA 931 .C121
- Statistical Abstract of the United
States. Washington, D.C. : Government Printing Office, 1876-
- YRL Reference Desk: HA 202
- Older editions in the YRL Reference Reading Room.
- Snyder, Thomas. State Comparisons
of Education Statistics: 1969-70 to 1996-97. Washington, DC :
Dept. of Edu., G.P.O., 1998.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: LA 217.2 .S68 1998
- United States-Mexico Border Statistics
Since 1900. LA : UCLA Latin American Center Publications, 1990.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: HA 931 .C121 no.11
- Also, 1990 Update, 1993.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: HA 931 .C121 no.13
top of page
- North American Free Trade Agreement
Between the Government of the United States of America, the Government
of Canada, and the Government of the United Mexican States. Washington,
DC : [Executive Office of the President], 1993-
- YRL Reference Reading Room: KDZ 944 .A41992A2 1993
top of page
- International Monetary
Fund
- LANIC
- Latin American Network Information Center at the
University of Texas, Austin.
- Latin
American & Caribbean Government Documents Project
- A project that organizes and describes the many
Latin American official documents now appearing on the Internet.
- National Association
of Latino Elected and Appointed Officials
- Office of NAFTA
& Inter-American Affairs
- Covers international trade administration, market
access and compliance.
- World Bank Group
- News, publications, topics in development, and
countries and regions.
- World
Bank & IMF Libraries (JOLIS Catalog)
- Includes references to books, journal titles,
journal articles, working papers, conference proceedings, technical
reports, videos, software, electronic resources, and published IMF and
World Bank materials.
top of page
Many book reviews published may be identified in Expanded
Academic ASAP since 1980.
- Book Review Digest. New York:
Wilson, 1905-
- YRL Reference Book Review Indexes: Z 1219 .B64
- Book Review Index. Detroit:
Gale, 1965-
- YRL Reference Book Review Indexes: Z 1035 .A1B65
- Combined Retrospective Index to Book
Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886 - 1974. Arlington,
Va.: Carrollton Press, 1979.
- YRL Reference Book Review Indexes: Z 1035 .A1C65
|