- UCLA Library Catalog
- Melvyl
(UC Libraries catalog)
- WorldCat
- Article Databases
- Reference Collection Online
- Online Materials
- Purchase
Recommendation
- Interlibrary
Loan
-
- Campus
Libraries
- UCLA Library Home
- UCLA Home
- YRL Home
-
-
|
|
The following list is intended to lead you to sources which provide useful
information on a variety of issues relating to the contemporary legal
position of Latinas/os in American Society. Unless otherwise noted, these
titles are located in the Reference & Instructional
Services (RIS) Department of the Young Research Library. Additional
resources may be found in the YRL Stacks, Law
Library and the College
Library.
The UCLA Library uses the Library of Congress Subject
Headings (LCSH) and the Medical Subject Headings
(MeSH). Some useful LCSH subject terms that might be useful in searching
Melvyl
and the UCLA Library Catalog for books are:
- Hispanic Americans economic aspects
- Mexican Americans economic aspects
- Hispanic Americans education history
- Mexican Americans education history
- Hispanic Americans social aspects
- Mexican Americans social aspects
- Hispanic Americans social conditions
- Mexican Americans social conditions
- Hispanic Americans politics and government
- Mexican Americans politics and government
- United States ethnic relations
- United States race relations
top of page
- Guide to Reference Books.
Ed. by Robert Balay, 11th ed. Chicago: American Library Association,
1996. (Z 1035 .M88g 1996/Core Reference Desk)
top of page
- Bibliography of Mexican American History.
Compiled by Matt S. Meier, Westport, Ct.: Greenwood Press, 1984.
(Z 1361 .M4M414 1984/RIS Reading Room)
top of page
Encyclopedias, dictionaries and overviews are excellent resources in providing
an overview on a topic.
- American Immigrant Cultures: Builders
of a Nation. Edited by David Livinson and Melvin Ember. New York
: Simon & Schuster Macmillan, 1997, 2 vols. (E
184 .A1A63448 1997/RIS Reading Room)
- Borderlands Sourcebook: A Guide
to the Literature on Northern Mexico and the American Southwest.
Edited by Ellwyn R. Stoddard, Richard L. Nostrand, and Jonathan P. West.
Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1983. (Z
1251 .S8B67 1983/RIS Reading Room)
- Chronology of Hispanic American
History: From Pre Columbian Times to the Present. New York: Gale
Research, 1995. (E 184 .S75C49 1995/RIS Desk)
- Civil Rights in the United States.
New York: Macmillan Reference, 2000, 2 vols. (E
184 .A1C47 2000/RIS Reading Room)
- Dictionary of American History.
3RD ed., New York: Charles Scribner's, 2003, 10 vols. (E
174 .D52 2003/RIS Desk)
- Dictionary of Mexican American History.
By Matt S. Meier and Feliciano Rivera, Westport, CT: Greenwood Press,
1981. (E 184 .M5M453/RIS Desk)
- Encyclopedia of American Social
History. New York: Charles Scribner's, 1993, 3 vols. (HN
57 .E58 1993/RIS Reading Room)
- Encyclopedia of Homosexuality.
Edited by Wayne Dynes, New York: Garland Publishing., 2 vols., 1990.
(HQ 76.25 .E53 1990/RIS Reading Room)
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History
and Culture. New York: Scribner's/Simon & Schuster Macmillan.
1996. 5 vols. (F 1406 .E53 1996/RIS Reading Room)
- Encyclopedia of Minorities in American
Politics. Phoenix, AZ.: Oryx Press, 2000, 2 vols. (E
184 .A1E574 2000/RIS Reading Room)
- Encyclopedia of the Mexican American
Civil Rights Movement. By Matt S. Meier and Margo Gutierrez.
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2000. (E 184 .M5M458
2000/RIS Reading Room)
- Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in
the United States. Arte Público Press; Madrid, Spain:
Instituto de Cooperación Iberoamericana, vols. 1-4, c1993 c1994.
(E 184 .S75H365 1993/RIS Reference Reading Room)
- v. 1: Literature & Art; v.2: History; v.3: Anthropology;
v.4 Sociology
- Hispanic American Almanac: A Reference
Work on Hispanics in the United States. 2nd ed., Detroit: Gale,
1997. (E 184 .S75H557 1997/RIS
Reading Room)
- Latino Encyclopedia. Ed.
by Richard Chabran and Rafael Chabran. New York:Marshall Cavendish,
1996. 6 vols. (E 184 .S75L357 1996/RIS Reading
Room)
- Meier, Matt S. Dictionary of Mexican
American History. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1981. (E
184 .M5M453/RIS Desk)
top of page
- Alt-Press Watch
- Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines,
and journals of the alternative and independent press. It contains articles
from as early as 1983, but a bulk of the coverage is from 1991 to the
present.
- America: History
and Life
- Indexes articles, books, dissertations about all aspects
of US history. Use the ADVANCE SEARCH.
- Chicano
Database
- Indexes all types of materials in the areas of Mexican-American
topics from 1967 to the present and, since 1992, materials on other
Latino cultures
>
- Expanded
Academic ASAP
- Indexes periodicals in all subject areas from 1980 to
the present, both popular & scholarly. Includes scholarly journals,
news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text. Use the ADVANCE
SEARCH.
- GenderWatch
- Contains the full text of publications that focus on
the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas from the
1970's to the present. Provides in-depth coverage of subjects that are
uniquely central to women's lives.
- Handbook of Latin
American Studies (HLAS Online)
- Indexes scholarly works on Latin America from 1935 to
the present, covering social sciences and humanities in alternating
years.
- Also available in print (Z1601.H19L/Abstracts
& Indexes Table).
- Hispanic American
Periodicals Index (HAPI Online)
- Many articles are not in English.
- Also Available in print: (Z 1605
.H21/RIS Abstracts & Indexes)
- Earlier coverage in: Index to Latin
American Periodicals, 1961 1971, (Z 1601
.I38/RIS Abstracts & Indexes) and Index
to Latin American Periodical Literature and Supplements, 1929
1965. (Z 1601 .I379/RIS Abstracts & Indexes)
- JSTOR
- Full text content of core journals in the social sciences,
humanities and mathematics. Journals complete from their beginning to
approximately five years ago.
- Left Index
- Indexes the diverse literature of the left, with an
emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship
inside and outside academia, 1982 to the present. It also leads to significant
but little known sources of news and ideas. Historically significant
early Left publications such as The People (est. NY 1891), and The Class
Struggle (1931-1937) along with classic texts by Marx, Lenin, Trotsky,
Engels and others, written in the formative years of the Left, also
are covered. Many citations provide the complete text of the article.
- PAIS
International (Public Affairs Information Service)
- Index (with abstracts since 1985) to articles, books,
conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political
policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and
related topics, from 1972 to the present.
- Periodicals Contents
Index
- An electronic index to the contents of thousands of
periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first
issues to 1995. Every article is indexed and there are links to full-text
in JSTOR.
- Project Muse
- Full-text recent volumes of over 100 scholarly journals
in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- Web of Science
- Online access to Science Citation
Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts
& Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), with collective coverage
of over 8,000 scholarly journals from 1975 to the present.
- Women's Studies International
- Combined access to several women's studies databases
from 1972 to the present, including Women Studies Abstracts, Women's
Studies Database, POPLINE, and Women of Color. Covers feminism, history,
ethnic studies, health, social sciences, U.S. and worldwide.
top of page
Newspapers and radio or television broadcasts are primary source materials
that provide information on how an event was reported and analyzed as
it occurred, in contrast to scholarly journal articles which might offer
quite different interpretations.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- Contains the complete text of articles since 1960 from
over 200
publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news,
culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Facts on File
- Fulltext available on Internet from 1980 as Facts.com.
World News Digest.
- Print available for 1941 to 1979. Location: D
410 F119/News Indexes & Digests
- Keesing's Record of World Events.
1931-
- Location: D 410 K258/News Indexes
& Digests
- LexisNexis Academic
- Complete text and index of articles in newspapers and
periodicals for about the last 20 years in a wide range of topics including
current affairs, business, law, and medicine.
- Note: Database is unavailable
every Saturday night/Sunday morning, 11:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m., Pacific
time.
top of page
|