- UCLA Library Catalog
- Melvyl
(UC Libraries catalog)
- WorldCat
- Article Databases
- Reference Collection Online
- Online Materials
- Purchase
Recommendation
- Interlibrary
Loan
-
- Campus
Libraries
- UCLA Library Home
- UCLA Home
- YRL Home
-
-
|
|
The following list is intended to lead you to sources, which provide
useful information on a variety of issues relating to Asian American Studies.
It illustrates the types and variety of sources that are available. Unless
otherwise noted, these titles are located in YRL
Reference of the Young Research Library. Many other general reference
sources on the Internet may be reached from the Reference
Collection Online.
The UCLA Library uses the
Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH)
and the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
A few useful subject terms that might be useful in UCLA
Library Catalog are listed below.
- Asian Americans
- Asians United States
- Cambodian Americans
- Chinese Americans
- Filipino Americans
- Korean Americans
- Koreans United States
- Japanese Americans
- Vietnamese Americans
- Social Sciences Research
top of page
Reference & Instructional Services (RIS) has
many subject encyclopedias and dictionaries which can be found in the
UCLA Library
Catalog under the appropriate subject heading, sometimes with the
subdivision, DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS.
- American Immigrant cultures: Builders
of a Nation. New York: Simon & Schuster Macmillan, 1997. 2 vols.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: E 184 .A1.A63448 1997
- Asian American Encyclopedia.
New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1995. 6 v.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: E 184.6 .A827 1995
- Bautista, Veltisezar. Filipino Americans:
From 1763 to the Present: Their History, Culture, and Traditions.
Farmington Hills, MI: Bookhaus Pub., 1998.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: E 184 .F4B38 1998
- Blackwell Dictionary of Twentieth-Century
Social Thought. Oxford, Cambridge: Mass., Blackwell, 1993.
- YRL Reference Desk: H 41 .B53 1993
- Dictionary of Statisatics and Methodology:
A Nontechnical Guide for the Social Sciences. Newbury Park, CA:
Sage Publications, 1993.
- YRL Reference Desk: HA 17 .V64 1993
- Encyclopedia of Minorities in American
Politics. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 2000. 2 v.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: E 184 .A1E574 2000
- National Asian Pacific American Political
Almanac. UCLA Asian American Studies Center. 7th. Edition, 1996-
.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: E 184 .O6N385
- Latest edition located in RIS, older editions in YRL
stacks.
- Social Science Encyclopedia.
2nd ed. London, New York: Routledge, 1996.
- YRL Reference Desk: H 41 .S63 1996
top of page
- America: History
and Life 1964-
- Indexes articles, books, dissertations about all
aspects of US history.
- LexisNexis Congressional
- Full text of U.S. legislative documents.
- Expanded
Academic ASAP (Formerly Magazine & Journal Articles). 1980-
- Includes many full-text articles.
- GPO Access
- Access to Full Text Government Information from
the U.S. Government Printing Office.
- Historical Abstracts
1960-
- Indexes articles, books, dissertations about all
aspects of world history since 1450 except for the United States.
- JSTOR
- Full text content of core journals in the social
sciences, humanities and mathematics. Journals complete from their beginning
to approximately five years ago.
- PAIS
International (Public Affairs Information Service)
- Index (with abstracts since 1985) to articles,
books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and
political policy, political science, public administration, current
affairs, and related topics, from 1972 to the present.
- Periodicals Contents
Index
- An electronic index to the contents of thousands
of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first
issues to 1995. Every article is indexed and there are links to full-text
in JSTOR.
- Project Muse
- Full-text recent volumes of over 100 scholarly
journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- Web of Knowledge
- Online access to Science Citation Index Expanded,
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Citation
Index (AHCI), with collective coverage of over 8,000 scholarly journals
from 1975 to the present.
- Women's Studies
International
- Combined access to several women's studies databases
from 1972 to the present, including Women Studies Abstracts, Women's
Studies Database, POPLINE, and Women of Color. Covers feminism, history,
ethnic studies, health, social sciences, U.S. and worldwide.
top of page
Newspapers and radio or television broadcasts are primary source materials
that provide information on how an event was reported and analyzed as it
occurred, in contrast to scholarly journal articles which might offer quite
different interpretations.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- Contains the complete text of articles since 1990
from 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press, along
with archival material dating back to the mid 1980's. Covers news, culture,
and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Facts
on File 1980-
- YRL Reference News Indexes & Digests: D 410 .F119
1941-1979
- Online version known as World News Digest.
- Keesing's Record of World Events.
1931-
- YRL Reference News Indexes & Digests: D 410
.K258
top of page
- The Asian And Pacific Islander Population
In The United States : March 1997 (update). [S.l.] : Racial Statistics
Branch, U.S. Bureau of the Census, [1998]
- YRL Reference A-Level Microfiche: E 184 .O6A85 1998
- California Statistical Abstract. 1958- .
- YRL Reference Desk: HA 261 .A23
- Keep latest year in RIS, older eds. in YRL stacks.
- Census of population (1990). Asians
and Pacific Islanders in the United States. 1990 census of population.
Asians and Pacific Islanders in the United States. Washington, DC :
U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Economics and Statistics Administration, Bureau
of the Census : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., [1993]
1 v.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: HA 201 .1990C38 1993
- Also available ONLINE.
- Changing America: Indicators of Social
and Economic Well-Being by Race and Hispanic Origin. By the Council
of Economic Advisers for the President's Initiative on Race. Washington,
D.C., 1998.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: E 184 .A1C43 1998
- Condition of Education. 1975+
Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Education, Office of Educational Research
and Improvement, National Center for Education Statistics.
- YRL Reference Desk: L 112 .N213c
- Latest printed edition in Reference & Instructional Services.
- Also available ONLINE
from 1989+
- Digest of Education Statistics.
Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Education, Office of Educational Research
and Improvement.
- YRL Reference Desk: L 112 .U58d
- Older editions in the RIS Reading Room and YRL stacks.
- Also available ONLINE
from 1990+
- Ong, Paul M. California's Asian Population:
Past Trends and Projections for the Year 2000. Los Angeles: CA:
Graduate School of Architecture and Urban Planning, Asian American Studies
Center, UCLA.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: F 870 .A75O54 1989
- Pacific Rim States Asian Demographic
Data Book / Pacific Rim Research Program ; J. Eric Oliver ...
[et al.] Oakland, CA : University of California, Pacific Rim Research
Program, Office of the President, 1995. 1 v.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: F 855.2 .O6P33 1995
- Pacific Rim States Asian Demographic
Data Book. Oakland, CA.:UC, Pacific Rim Research Program, Office
of the President, 1995.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: F 855.2 .O6P33 1995
- Statistical Abstract of the United
States. Washington, D.C. : Government Printing Office,
1876- .
- YRL Reference Desk: HA 202
- Latest edition at the Desk, older editions in the RIS
Reading Room.
- Also available ONLINE
from 1995+
- Statistical Handbook on Racial Groups
in the United States. Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press, 2000.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: E 184 .A1H417 2000
- Snyder, Thomas. State Comparisons
of Education Statistics: 1969-70 to 1996-97. Washington, DC:
Dept. of Ed., G.P.O., 1998.
- YRL Reference Reading Room: LA 217 .2S68 1998
top of page
- Almanac of American Politics.
New York: E.P. Dutton, 1972-
- YRL Reference Desk: JK 1012 .A445
- Latest edition kept at the Desk, older editions are in
the RIS Reading Room.
- Asian American Almanac: A Reference
Work on Asians in the United States. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research,
1995.
- YRL Reference Desk: E 184 .O6A824 1995
- California Political Almanac.
1989/90-
- YRL Reference Desk: JK 8701 .A445
- Latest edition at the Desk, older editions in YRL stacks.
- Congressional Staff Directory.
Mount Vernon, VA: Congressional Staff Directory, 1959-
- YRL Reference Desk: JK 1012 .C76
- Latest edition kept in RIS.
- United States Government Manual.
Washington, DC: Office of the Federal Register, 1960-
- YRL Reference Desk: JK 421 .A3
- Latest edition kept at the Desk, older editions are in
the YRL stacks.
top of page
Many book reviews published may be identified in Expanded
Academic ASAP since 1980.
- Book Review Digest. New York:
Wilson, 1905-
- YRL Reference Book Review Indexes: Z 1219 .B64
- Book Review Index. Detroit:
Gale, 1965-
- YRL Reference Book Review Indexes: Z 1035 .A1B65
- Combined Retrospective Index to Book
Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886 1974. Arlington, Va.: Carrollton
Press, 1979.
- YRL Reference Book Review Indexes: Z 1035 .A1C65
top of page
|