Spanish/Portuguese M200

Research Resources

Winter 2006

Eudora Loh
Librarian for Latin American and Iberian Studies
eloh@library.ucla.edu
(310) 825-1125

Professional Organizations
Citing and Documenting Sources
Where To Send Your Article
Article Databases
Journals

This webpage is designed to guide beginning graduate students in Spanish and Portuguese to core bibliographic and reference sources critical for developing fundamental research skills and information competencies in the discipline. The listings are by no means exhaustive; rather, they are a starting point to the vast world of research resources. The guide is generally organized according the course syllabus. All sources, print or virtual, are either located in the UCLA Library or are accessible to UCLA students. Some of the sources point to materials beyond the UCLA campus.

Professional Organizations

Peruse the websites, newsletters, and journals of professional organizations and societies to investigate opportunities for conference participation, funding, employment, and research, as well as membership information and professional resources.

Top of Page

Citing and Documenting Sources

MLA style is the recommended documentation guideline of the Modern Language Association. It is widely adopted in academia and is used by more than 125 scholarly journals, newsletters and magazines. MLA does not publish its guidelines on the Web. However, there are helpful sites to guide students in the use of citation formats. The MLA guides are available in print in the UCLA Library.

Top of Page

Where To Send Your Article

Top of Page

Article Databases

Journal articles are not individually listed in the UCLA Library Catalog. To find articles, use article databases that provide indexing and abstracts to journal articles that can be searched. Many article databases provide links from citations to full text articles. MLA and LLBA are the most critical resources for literature and language. To identify article databases available to UCLA users, go to Search and Find on the UCLA Library homepage, click on Article Databases, and search by keywords. To browse, select:

Ball iconMLA International Bibliography
Indexes journals, dissertations, collected works in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1963 to the present.
Ball iconLinguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts : LLBA
Abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials in the fields of linguistics, language behavior and related disciplines, as well as books, book chapters, occasional papers, technical reports and dissertations.

  • Article databases focusing on Latin American Studies:

    Ball icon Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Online)
    A bibliography and essential guide to scholarly works including books on Latin America, consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.
    Ball icon HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
    Authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals. Covers articles, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in leading journals published throughout the world. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center.
    Ball iconLatin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC)
    Searches the tables of contents of nearly 1,000 periodicals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America.

  • Additional disciplinary and interdisciplinary article databases that include the humanities:

    Ball iconArts & Humanities Citation Index (via ISI Web of Science)
    A multidisciplinary database of article citations gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, 1975-present. Search by topic, author, journal title, or cited author (to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify).
    Ball iconFRANCIS
    An index to multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, social sciences, economics, religion, the history of art, and literature from 1984 to the present.
    Ball iconHistorical Abstracts
    Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1967.
    Ball iconJSTOR
    Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.
    Ball iconLiterary Index
    Master index to 43 published literary series, including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. The complete text of the materials indexed can be found at the Literature Resource Center.
    Ball iconPeriodicals Archive Online
    Index to article literature in more than 4,000 U.S. and foreign periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from 1770-1995, including full text for 200 journal runs.
    Ball iconProject Muse
    Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.

  • Top of Page

    Journals

    The following are a selection of core electronic journals covering Spanish, Portuguese, and Latin American literature and linguistics: