
Subject Specialist for Western European Studies: Katalin Radics
Recommend a Purchase
UCLA Department of Italian
Primary Sources: Online | Special Collections | CD-ROMs | Major Microfilm Sets
Reference Resources: General Works | Article Databases | CD-ROMs | Library Catalogs and Archives | Dissertations
The UCLA Library has more than 150,000 books and periodicals written in Italian in the different library collections. Most of the Italian books are located in the Research Library.
Dartmouth Dante Project
Contains the full text of "La Commedia" and commentaries by more than 70 authors. Free resource.
Decameron Web
An online archive of materials dedicated to Boccaccio's masterpiece. Free resource.
Tutte le Opere del Petrarcha
Free resource.
Antologia frammentaria della Letteratura Italiana
A selection of full texts (poetry, prose, essays, etc.).
Letteratura Italiana
A growing resource of Italian literary texts.
The Special Collections of the UCLA Research Library and the Elmer Belt Library of Vinciana hold one of the richest collections of Italian materials in the US. Its highlights are followed by a brief selection of the large microfilm set titles UCLA owns in the library. Each set includes a large number of works.
Collection of material about the Orsini family, 1200-1929
YRL Special Collections. The 524 boxes of the Orsini Family papers date from the 14th to the 20th century, with the bulk of the collection's holdings in the 17th through the 19th centuries. The collection contains documents concerning foreign states and attendance on the papal throne; inventories describing the property of the Orsinis; inventories of marriage settlements and dowries, inheritances, donations, and wills; and topographical and architectural plans of property owned and managed by the family.
Ahmanson-Murphy Aldine Collection
YRL Special Collections. Checklist of the collection. The foremost Aldine collection in North America. The UCLA collection contains more than 750 items listed in A.-A. Renouard's Annales de l"imprimerie des Alde (Paris: Jules Renouard, 1834).
Ahmanson-Murphy Collection of Early Italian Printing
YRL Special Collections. More than three hundred printers are represented, with more comprehensive holdings of Antonio Blado of Rome, Gabriele Giolito de Ferrari of Venice, and Giunti family of Florence and Venice. The collection preserves nearly three hundred 15th-century Italian books, exclusive of the Aldines.
The Elmer Belt Library of Vinciana
A special collection of books and materials concerning Leonardo da Vinci and the Italian Renaissance. The Library was given to UCLA in 1961 by Dr. Elmer Belt, a Professor Emeritus in the UCLA School of Medicine and a collector of Vinciana for over sixty years.
Raccolta di Drammi (Venetian opera libretto collection)
1286 published librettos, bound in chronological order, comprehensively representing Venetian opera productions between 1637 and 1769. Music Library, Special Collections. The library has additional extensive holdings of 18th and 19th century Italian opera librettos.
Consilia Statuti Collection. A collection of juridical works from the sixteenth to the eighteenth centuries, containing material for the legal history of the later Middle Ages and the early modern period, especially in Italy. -Search for title "Consilia Statuti" on the catalog for individual titles.
Art theorists of the Italian Renaissance YRL Microfilm N6915 .A78 1998
Gli atti del comune di Milano nei secoli XII e XIII DG651 .A88 2000
Italienische Zeichnungen Vom 14. bis zum 18. Jahrhundert / Kupferstichkabinett Arts Library Permanent Reserves NC27.G4 S73 1995
Tutte le opere di Torquato Tasso YRL Microfilm PQ4636 .A1 1997
Leonardo da Vinci, the paintings Arts Library Permanent Reserves ND623.L5 L533 1995
Letteratura italiana Zanichelli YRL Microfilm PQ4201 .L48 1993
The Medici Arts Library Permanent Reserves DG737.42 .M43 1997
Opera Omnia/Francesco Petrarca PQ4475 A1 Microform & Media
The Renaissance of Florence Arts Library Permanent Reserves N6370 .R46 1997
Incunabula: the printing revolution in Europe, 1455-1500. Printing in Italy before 1472 (Units 7-10) SRLF Z240 .I3595 1991
Italian Books before 1601. Individual titles of the collection are listed on Melvyl. SRLF
Italian books, 1601-1700. Individual titles of the collection are listed on Melvyl. SRLF and CRL
Archives of the Feltrinelli Institute of Milan. Series I, Political movements and parties in Italy from 1900 to the fall of Fascism. HX286 .A73 1977
Confidential US. State Department central files. Italy: foreign affairs 1940-1944 DG568.5.C66 1987
Confidential US. State Department central files. Italy: internal affairs 1940-1944 DG568.5.C662 1987
Confidential US. State Department central files. Italy: foreign affairs 1945-1949 DG572 .C596 1987
Confidential US. State Department central files. Italy: foreign affairs 1950-1954 DG577.5 C662 1988
Confidential US. State Department central files. Italy: internal affairs 1940-1944 DG568.5.C662 1987
Confidential US. State Department central files. Italy: internal affairs 1945-1949 DG572 .C598 1987
Confidential US. State Department central files. Italy: internal affairs 1950-1954 DG577.5.C6624 1988
Indexes and guides to Italian periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences
This page lists those printed resources that help finding periodical contents in journals published in the 17th, 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.
Censimento Nazionale delle Edizioni Italiane del XVI Secolo
National registry of 16th century imprints published in Italy and the Italian language abroad.
Electronic databases are the best tools for finding articles, biographical information, statistical or economic data, and legal information. Some of the databases present and offer for search not only the bibliographic information (author, title, subject etc.) of the articles but the full texts of the articles themselves too. The yellow UC eLinks symbol leads to UCLA or UC holdings of the item retrieved.
If you do not know which database to use for your research needs, ask a librarian or review the selected list of UCLA E-Resources.
The easiest way to access any article database is from the UCLA Library home page, under Search and Find, and E-Resources. Type the name of the database into the search box. Below is a short list of the most useful ones for Italian studies.
The databases below are not specifically Italian, but include large amounts of information about Italian topics in a wide range of disciplines in the social sciences and humanities.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes bibliographic data of journal articles, dissertations, collected works in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1963 to the present. (Search guide to MLA International Bibliography and CSA)
FRANCIS
A bibliographic index to multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, social sciences, economics, religion, the history of art and literature from 1984 to the present. Represents a wide range of materials, including serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports. Prepared by the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du CNRS.
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
Single interface to a group of many databases (e.g. MLA International Bibliography, Communication Studies, ERIC, Linguistics and Language Behavior, Political Science, Sociological Abstracts). You can select the ones in which you want to do your searches.
Linguistics and language behavior abstracts : LLBA.
Abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials in the fields of linguistics, language behavior and related disciplines, as well as books, book chapters, occasional papers, technical reports and dissertations. Many European linguistic journals are also indexed.
Periodicals Archives Online (formerly PCI Full Text)
Indexes thousands of periodicals in the social sciences and humanities from 1770-1995, and currently offers full text of articles for 200 complete journal runs.
JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago.
Project Muse
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Inter-Play: an online index to plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals
International Bibliography of Book Reviews
This database contains over one million entries about book reviews from 1985 onwards. It is international (mostly from Europe and the United States) and interdisciplinary and its reviews have been published in more than 6600 academic journals, mainly in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
International Index to the Performing Arts, IIPA Full Text
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Rizzoli enciclopedia multimediale Larousse AE35 .R59 1998
Grande dizionario italiano dell'uso by Tullio de Mauro C1625 .D354 2000b (YRL Reference)
Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze The central national library in Florence.
MAI MetaOPAC Azalai Italiano This site makes simultaneous searches possible in the OPACs of Italian libraries.
Biblioteche Italiane Gateway to Italian libraries. Click on the name or map of an Italian county to get the list of local libraries.
Archivi. Sistema Archivistico Nazionale Gateway to the system of state archives in Italy.
Italia Libri An electronic monthly on Italian literature.
The Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze is the central national library in Italy with more than five million holdings of which one million are searchable. Dissertations produced after the mid-eighties are searchable on the OPAC.
1. Go to the catalog of BNCF.
2. Set the box Tipo materiale to Tesi di dottorato, and type in your search word. It is useful to try to identify search words on the two lists located linked to the two icons on the right side of search boxes before searching: the alphabetic list of terms (most of them complex), and the list of words that occur in terms. Truncation with * (several characters) and ? (just one).
3. Having identified the dissertation you need, try to find it at the Foreign Doctoral Dissertations database of the Center of Research Libraries. If you do not find the title you want, please contact the person dealing with publication requests at CRL. They will buy those dissertations that are not already held in their collection. You also need to fill out an Interlibrary Loan request form in order to receive the dissertation at the Circulation desk of a UCLA library.
Bibliografia nazionale italiana. Tesi di dottorato. 1995, fasc. 1- Firenze : Istituto centrale per il catalogo unico delle biblioteche italiane e per le informazioni bibliografiche, 1995-. YRL Reference Reading Room Z2341 .B53
Page created and maintained by Katalin Radics, Subject Specialist for Western European Studies
Last updated: May 2006 © Regents of the University of California