UCLA Library Collections and Internet Resources in:

DUTCH STUDIES

 

Benedict Spinoza

Subject Specialist for Western European Studies: Katalin Radics
Recommend a Purchase
UCLA Department of Germanic Languages
UCLA Dutch Program

Primary Sources: Online | Major Microfilm Sets | Special Collections
Reference Resources: General Works | Article Databases | Dictionaries, Linguistic Resources
Countries (Official Government Websites) | Library Catalogs and Archives in the Low Countries
Scholarly Resources | News and Newspapers | Dissertations

 

The UCLA library has approximately 50,000 books and periodicals written in the Dutch language. Most of the collection covers the social sciences and humanities.

Primary Sources

Primary Sources Online

History

History of Belgium. Primary Documents

History of the Netherlands. Primary Documents

Nederlands Historisch Data Archief (NHDA)

Resources in Dutch History

Literature

Digitale Bibliotheek voor de Nederlandse Letteren

Resources in Dutch Literature and Language

back to contents

Primary Sources in Major Microfilm Sets

Books printed in the low countries before 1601. Individual titles of the collection are listed on Melvyl. SRLF

Dutch pamphlets ca. 1486-1648 : Section I, the collection in the Royal Library, The Hague. YRL Microform and Media. DJ3 D88

Dutch pamphlets ca. 1649-1750 : Section II, the collection in the Royal Library, The Hague. CRL

Dutch pamphlets ca. 1751-1853: Section III, the collection in the Royal Library, The Hague. UCB Library (Melvyl) - shared purchase of the UC libraries held in Berkeley.

 back to contents

Primary Sources in Special Collections

The Abraham Wolf Collection of SPINOZA
A partial reconstruction of titles from Spinoza's library. There are also original editions of his works and those of many of his contemporaries. YRL Special Collections.

Collection of Dutch pamphlets. 545 pamphlets in 10 boxes. YRL Special Collections.

Carmen Manus Collection of Dutch Underground Newspapers. (Finding aid)

back to contents

Reference Resources

General Works

Famous Belgians

Dutch Research Database

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences
This page lists those printed resources that help finding periodical contents in the 17th, 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.

Short Title Catalog Flanders
An online bibliography of books printed in 17th century Flanders.

back to contents

Article Databases

Electronic databases are the best tools for finding articles, bibliographical and biographical information, statistical or economic data, and legal information. Some of the databases offer for search not only the bibliographic information (author, title, subject etc.) of the articles but the full texts of the articles themselves too.

The yellow UC eLinks symbol leads to UCLA or UC holdings of the item retrieved.

If you do not know which database to use for your research needs, ask a librarian or review the selected list of UCLA E-resources.

The easiest way to access any article database is from the UCLA library home page under Search and Find, and E-Resources. Type the name of the database into the search box and select the option 'exact beginning of title' or 'keywords in title' from the 'Search words as' menu. Below is a short list of the most useful databases for Dutch studies.

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes bibliographic data of journal articles, dissertations, collected works in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1963 to the present. (Search guide to MLA International Bibliography and CSA)

IBZ: International Bibliography of Periodical Literature (Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur)
Multilingual database, indexing over 5600 periodicals, including a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent, 1983 to the present.

JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.

Project Muse
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.

FRANCIS
A bibliographic index to multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, social sciences, economics, religion, the history of art and literature from 1984 to the present. Represents a wide range of materials, including serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports. Prepared by the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du CNRS.

Elektronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek
You have to know the bibliographic data of the journal and/or article you want to read in order to use this database, because it is searchable only by journal title, not on the article level. It contains 15046 titles, among them 1763 online-only journals, covering all subjects. 4871 journals, the ones with a green light icon, can be accessed free-of-charge.

Historical Abstracts
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1967.

Linguistics and Language Behavior abstracts : LLBA
Abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials in the fields of linguistics, language behavior and related disciplines, as well as books, book chapters, occasional papers, technical reports and dissertations. Many European linguistic journals are also indexed.

Periodicals Archives Online (formerly PCI Full Text)
Indexes thousands of periodicals in the social sciences and humanities from 1770-1995, and currently offers full text of articles for 200 complete journal runs.

Databases with some Dutch Materials

Bibliography of the History of Art

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

International Bibliography of Book Reviews
This database contains over one million entries about book reviews from 1985 onwards. It is international (mostly from Europe and the United States) and interdisciplinary and its reviews have been published in more than 6600 academic journals, mainly in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Sociological Abstracts

back to contents

Dictionaries, Linguistic Resources

Dutch-English Dictionary

English-Dutch Dictionary

Taalthuis (The Dutch Language Site)

De Nieuwe Spelling New spelling rules in Dutch.

Dutch Proverbs and Sayings

back to contents

Countries (Official Government Websites)

België. Federale Portaalsite

Holland.nl with searching capability, also in English

back to contents

Libraries Catalogs and Archives in the Low Countries

Libraries and Related Organizations in the Netherlands

Archiefnet Archives in the Netherlands. Also in English.

Koninklijke Bibliotheek The national library in the Netherlands.

Online Catalog of the Royal Library (Belgium)

Bibliotheken en documentatiediensten (Belgium)

Archives in Belgium

back to contents

News and Newspapers

NRC Handelsblad

De Volkskrant

Het Nieuwsblad

Het Volk

back to contents

Dissertations

ProQuest Digital Dissertations
Includes Dissertation Abstracts International, but only a small fraction of dissertations written abroad are actually included into the database. The index of US dissertations goes from 1861 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Complete text of dissertations and theses from University of California campuses since 1997 is available at no charge to download in PDF format. The first 24 pages of all items since 1997 are available to preview at no charge.

Répertoire des thèses de doctorat. Repertorium van doctorale proefschriften. Bruxelles : Ministère des affaires étrangères. 1971/72-. SRLF

Bibliografie van nederlandse proefschriften Dutch Theses, [Utrecht] : Bibliotheek der Rijksuniversiteit Utrecht, 1977-. YRL Reference Reading Room Z5055.N38 N21

back to contents

You are visitor number since February 11, 2005.

Page created and maintained by Katalin Radics, Subject Specialist for Western European Studies
Last updated: May 2006 © Regents of the University of California