- UCLA Library Catalog
- Melvyl
(UC Libraries catalog)
- WorldCat
- Article Databases
- Reference Collection Online
- Online Materials
- Purchase
Recommendation
- Interlibrary
Loan
-
- Campus
Libraries
- UCLA Library Home
- UCLA Home
- YRL Home
-
-
|
|
Journal and newspaper indexes help you to find articles on your topic,
reviews of performances, interviews, and book reviews. The NYPL
Dance Collection Catalog indexes by far the largest number of dance
periodicals. The following titles will lead to journals in other fields.
Many indexes are available on the Web, others on CD-ROM, still others
only in printed format.
On the Web, begin at the Article
Databases page. This site links to many indexes of value to the dance
researcher. In addition to the categories and indexes listed below, also
try under Music, Latin America, Asian Studies, Chicano
Studies, etc., depending on your research interests.
- America:
History & Life (1964- )
- Index to articles on U.S. and Canadian history in scholarly
journals.
- Anthropology
Plus (19th Century- )
- Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource
Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological
Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus
provides indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited
works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological,
and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material
culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index covers core periodicals
internationally in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals
from the late 19th century to the present.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via ISI Web of Science)
- A multidisciplinary database of article citations gathered
from thousands of scholarly journals, 1975-present. Search by topic,
author, journal title, or cited author (to identify articles that cite
an author or article that you specify). Users can also search the Social
Sciences Citation Index and the Science Citation Index simultaneously
- Dance
Collection Catalog
- The most comprehensive resource for materials on dance.
- See description under The
New York Public Library Dance Collection.
- ERIC
(1966- )
- Available two ways on the Web at this site. Also available
on CD-ROM in the Reference Room. The most comprehensive index to education
periodicals and documents.
- Ethnic
NewsWatch (1990- )
- News, culture, history from the ethnic, minority and
native press. Includes full text of articles.
- Francis
(1984- )
- For articles in the humanities, history of art, dance,
etc.
- Historical
Abstracts. (1964- )
- Index to articles on World History (non-U.S.) since
1450 in scholarly journal
- LexisNexis Academic
- Includes many newspapers from around the country and
periodicals. Provides full text of articles.
- MLA International
Bibliography (1963- )
- Indexes journals in the fields of literature, folklore,
and linguistics.
- New York Times (1851- )
- ProQuest
- Current (1999-current)
- ProQuest
- Historical (1851-1998)
- Index also available in print. 1851- (AI
21 .N49/News Indexes & Digests)
In the YRL Reference Reading Room (periodical
indexes NOT available on the Web):
- Dance Abstracts and Index.
Senior ed. and comp., Elsie I. Dunin. Los Angeles: Dance Database Project,
1991- (GV 1594 .D35/Reference
Reading Room)
- Provides abstracts for periodical articles, books, book
chapters, dissertations, theses, newsletters, reviews, etc. The 1991
vols. covers 1989 publications, the 1993 vols. covers 1990 publications.
- Guide to Dance Periodicals.
1931-1962. Ceased publication. (Z 7514 .D2G94/Reference
Reading Room)
Compiled by Patti
S. Caravello, September 2003
|