- UCLA Library Catalog
- Melvyl
(UC Libraries catalog)
- WorldCat
- Article Databases
- Reference Collection Online
- Online Materials
- Purchase
Recommendation
- Interlibrary
Loan
-
- Campus
Libraries
- UCLA Library Home
- UCLA Home
- European Studies
- History & Biography
- Language & Linguistics
- Literature
- Politics & Government
- General Sources
- YRL Home
-
-
|
|
LITERATURE
Materials
are located in the YRL Reference Reading Room unless otherwise indicated.
Encyclopedias,
Bibliographies, & Web Sites: Literature
General
European | France | Germany
| Italy | Russia & Slavic
Scandinavia | Spain & Portugal
General European or World Literature
- The continental novel; a checklist of criticism in
English, 1900-1966. [Ref Desk Z 5916 .K214c] and 1967-1980
[Ref Desk Z 5916 .F57 1983]
- Cyclopedia of world authors. [Ref Desk PN 451
.M36 1997]
- Dictionnaire universel des littératures. [PN
41 .D43 1994]
- Dizionario letterario Bompiani delle opere e dei personaggi
di tutti i tempi e di tutte le letterature. [PN 41 .D64]
- Electronic
text collections in Western European literature. (from WESSWEB)
- An Encyclopedia of continental women writers [PN
481 .E5 1991]
- Encyclopedia of literary translation into English.
[PN 241 .E43 2000]
- Encyclopedia of world literature in the 20th century.
[PN 771 .E5 1999]
- European authors, 1000-1900; a biographical dictionary
of European literature. [PN 451 .K962e]
- Kindlers neues literatur lexikon. [PN 44 .K55
1988]
- Le nouveau dictionnaire des uvres de tous les temps
et de tous les pays / Laffont, Bompiani. [PN 41 .D199 1994]
- The Penguin companion to European literature.
[PN 41 .P376 1971 v.2]
- Voice
of the Shuttle: Literatures (Other than English). Alan Liu.
- Western
European Literature: Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Scandinavian,
and Spanish. Sue Waterman. (from College & Research Libraries
News, April 2000)
- World authors 1950-70, with additional vols. through
1995.
[PN 451 .W674 1996]
Top of Page
By Country/Region
France
| Germany | Italy | Russia
& Slavic | Scandinavia | Spain
& Portugal
France:
- A critical bibliography of French literature.
(Volumes organized by period) [Ref Desk Z 2171 .C11c 1952]
- Dictionnaire des grandes oeuvres de la littérature
française.
[PQ 41 .D53 1992]
- Dictionnaire des lettres françaises. [PQ 41
.D56 1992]
- Guide to French poetry explication / Kathleen
Coleman.
[Ref Desk PQ 401 .C65 1993]
- The New Oxford companion to literature in French.
[PQ 41 .N49 1995]
- Research and reference guide to French studies
/ Charles B. Osburn. [Ref Desk Z 2175 .A2O82 1981]
Germany:
- Deutsches Literatur-Lexikon; biographisch-bibliographisches
Handbuch. [PT 41 .K84d 1968]
- German literature : an annotated reference guide
/ Uwe K. Faulhaber. [Ref Desk Z 2231 .F38]
- Lexikon der deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur
seit 1945.
[PT 401 .N48 1997]
- The Oxford companion to German literature.
[Ref Desk PT 41 .G183o 1997]
Italy:
- The Cambridge history of Italian literature /
eds. Peter Brand and Lino Pertile [Ref Desk PQ 4038 .C35 1999]
- Dictionary of Italian literature / Peter Bondanella,
Julia Conaway Bondanella, eds. [Ref Desk PQ 4006 .D562]
- Dizionario generale degli autori italiani contemporanei.
[PQ 4006 .D651]
- Storia della letteratura italiana / ed. Enrico
Malato.
[PQ 4037 .S9 1995]
Russia & Slavic:
- The Cambridge history of Russian literature /
ed. Charles A. Moser
[PG 2951 .C36 1992]
- Handbook of Russian literature / ed. Victor Terras
[PG 2940 .H29 1985]
- Kratkaia literaturnaia entsiklopediia. [PN
41 .K86]
- The Modern encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet literatures
/ Harry B. Weber, ed. [PG 2940 .M719]
Vol. 10 has the title: The modern encyclopedia of East Slavic, Baltic
and Eurasian literatures.
- Modern Slavic literatures / Vasa D. Mihailovich.
[PG 501 .M72]
- Reference guide to Russian literature. [PG
2940 .R43 1998]
- Russkaia literatura XX veka (Entsiklopediia literaturnikh).
[PG 3020.5 .C5R87 1998]
- Russkie pisateli: biobibliograficheskii slovar'
/ P.A. Nikolaeva, ed.
[PG 2991 .R87 1990]
- Guide
to Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Information Resources
Scandinavia:
- Dictionary of Scandinavian literature / Virpi
Zuck, ed.
[PT 7063 .D5 1990]
Spain and Portugal:
- Dicionário de literatura: literatura portuguesa, literatura
brasileira, literatura galega, estilística literária. Jacinto do
Prado Coelho, ed.
[PQ 9006 .D549 1973]
- Dictionary of the literature of the Iberian peninsula.
[Ref Desk PN 849 .S6D54 1993]
- Guide to reference works for the study of the Spanish
language and literature and Spanish American literature / Hensley
C. Woodbridge.
[Ref Desk Z 2695 .A2W66 1997]
- The Oxford companion to Spanish literature.
[Ref Desk PQ 6006 .O983]
- Portuguese language and Luso-Brazilian literature
: an annotated guide to selected reference works / Bobby J. Chamberlain.
[Ref Desk Z 2725 .A2C45 1989]
- Spanish and Portuguese literatures and their times:
the Iberian Peninsula / Joyce Moss. [PQ 6041 .M67 2002]
- Spanish Dramatists of the Golden Age: A Bio-Bibliographical
Sourcebook. / Mary Parker, ed. [PQ 6051 .S63 1998]
- Spanish literature, 1500-1700: a bibliography of Golden
Age studies in Spanish and English, 1925-1980 / William W. Moseley,
et al.
[Z 2692 .M67 1984]
Top of Page
Article
Databases & Indexes: Literature
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via ISI Web of Science)
A multidisciplinary database of article citations gathered from thousands
of scholarly journals, 1975-present. Search by topic, author, journal
title, or cited author (to identify articles that cite an author or
article that you specify).
- Bibliographie
der französischen Literaturwissenschaft. 1956- (also known
by its editor's name, Klapp). Otto Klapp, ed. [Z 2171 .B475]
- Bibliographie
der Rezensionen. (Book reviews, international) 1900-
[Book Reviews AI 9 .B473]
- French
XX bibliography. 1940- [Z 2171 .B473]
- FRANCIS
An index to multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities,
social sciences, economics, religion, the history of art, and literature
from 1984 to the present. For earlier years see Bulletin
signalétique 523: Histoire et science de la littérature.
1969-83 in Reference [Z 7127 .F84b]; 1964-1968 at the SRLF.
- Germanistik.
1960- [Z 2235 .G31]
- Indice
Español de Humanidades. 1976-97.
- 1976-88 on Ref Index case AI 1 .I5
- 1992-97 on Ref Index case Z 7003 .I53
- MLA International
Bibliography
Indexes journals, dissertations, collected works in the fields of literature,
folklore, and linguistics from 1963 to the present. [Volumes covering
1921-94 are located in YRL Reference Z 7001 .A511]
- Periodicals Archives Online (formerly PCI Full Text):
Indexes thousands of periodicals in the social sciences and humanities from 1770-1995, and currently offers full text of articles for 200 complete journal runs.
- Romanische
Bibliographie. Bibliographie romane. Romance bibliography.
1961- [Z 7032 .R6]
- Year's
Work in Modern Language Studies
Full text of articles for 1930-90.
Also available in YRL Reference from 1929/30 to the present [PB 1
.Y45]
(Note: To search articles in this journal, delete
"Exact: The" and punctuation at end of title in the "Journal title"
box.)
Top of Page
Compiled by Patti S. Caravello, March 2003
|