- UCLA Library Catalog
- Melvyl
(UC Libraries catalog)
- WorldCat
- Article Databases
- Reference Collection Online
- Online Materials
- Purchase
Recommendation
- Interlibrary
Loan
-
- Campus
Libraries
- UCLA Library Home
- UCLA Home
- European Studies
- History & Biography
- Language & Linguistics
- Literature
- Politics & Government
- General Sources
- YRL Home
-
|
|
HISTORY & BIOGRAPHY
Materials
are located in the YRL Reference Reading Room unless otherwise indicated.
Bibliographic
Guides: History & Biography
- The American Historical Association's guide to historical
literature. Eds. Mary Beth Norton, Pamela Gerardi. 1995. [Ref
Desk Z 6201.G94 1995]
- Slavens, Thomas P., 1928- Sources of information
for historical research. New York : Neal-Schuman, c1994. [Ref
Desk Z 6201 .S63 1994]
- Walford's guide to reference material. 8th ed.
London: Library Association Publishing, 1999-<2000>. Vol. 2: Social
and historical sciences, philosophy and religion, Vol.3: Generalia,
language and literature, the arts.
[Ref Desk Z 1035 .W149g 1996]
- Guide to Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Information Resources
Top of Page
Encyclopedias
& Handbooks: History & Biography
For Specific Countries
- Buse, Dieter K. and Juergen C. Doerr, eds. Modern
Germany: An Encyclopedia of History, People, and Culture, 1871-1990.
New York : Garland Pub., 1998. [DD 14 .M64 1998]
- Cooke, James J. France, 1789-1962. Newton Abbot
[Eng.]: David & Charles ; Hamden, Conn.: Archon Books, 1975. [DC
35 .C775f]
- Hochman, Jirí. Historical dictionary of the Czech
State. (European historical dictionaries, no. 23) Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow
Press, 1998. [DB 2007 .H63 1998]
- Kubijovyc, Volodymyr, ed. Encyclopedia of Ukraine.
Toronto; Buffalo: University of Toronto Press, c1984-c1993. [DK 508
.E613 1984]
- Translation of: Entsyklopediia ukraïnoznavstva.
- Lexikon der deutschen Geschichte : Personen, Ereignisse,
Institutionen von der Zeitwende bis zum Ausgangdes 2. Weltkrieges.
Gerhard Taddey, ed. 2d ed. Stuttgart: Kröner, 1983.
[DD 84 .L591 1983]
- Wheeler, Douglas L. Historical Dictionary of Portugal.
Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1993. [DP 535 .W44 1993]
- Wieczynski, Joseph L., ed. The Modern Encyclopedia
of Russian and Soviet History. Gulf Breeze, Fl : Academic International
Press, 1976- [DK 14 .M719]
Top of Page
For All Europe
- Dinan, Desmond. Historical Dictionary of the European
Community. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1993. [JN 15 .D56
1993]
- General Encyclopedias from
Europe & Russia
- The New Cambridge modern history. Cambridge [Eng.]
University Press, 1957-79. 14 v. [D 208 .N42 1957]
- The Oxford companion to World War II. I.C.B.
Dear, M.R.D. Foot, eds. Oxford [England]; New York: Oxford University
Press, 1995.
[D 740 .O94 1995]
- Powell, John. Chronology of European history, 15,000
B.C. to 1997. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, c1997. 3 vols. [D 11
.C57 1997]
- Strayer, Joseph R. ed. Dictionary of the Middle Ages.
New York : Scribner, 1982-1989. 13 vols. [D 114.D5 1982]
- Stearns, Peter N., ed. Encyclopedia of European social
history from 1350 to 2000. New York : Scribner, c2001. 6 vols. [HN
373 .E63 2001]
Top of Page
Article
Database & Indexes: History & Biography
- American
Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES)
Covers North American scholarship since the late 1980s on Eastern Europe,
Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Indexes journal articles, books,
book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government
publications.
- FRANCIS
An index to multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities,
social sciences, economics, religion, the history of art, and literature
from 1984 to the present.
- Historical
Abstracts. 1967-
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450
to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered
in America: History and Life).
- Historical
Newspapers
Includes Palmer's Index to the (London) Times, 1790-1905, with Palmer's
Full Text Online, 1785-1870 (currently available: 1800-1870); The Official
Index to the Times, 1906-1980; and The Historical Index to the New York
Times, 1851-1923 (currently available: 1863-1905, 1913-1922).
- IBZ,
Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur (International
Bibliography of Periodical Literature)
Multilingual database, indexing over 5600 periodicals, including a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent, 1983 to the present.
- Iter:
Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Index to articles and reviews drawn from over 300 medieval and renaissance
journal titles (covering the period 400-1700), published from 1843 to
the present.
- Periodicals Archives Online (formerly PCI Full Text):
Indexes thousands of periodicals in the social sciences and humanities from 1770-1995, and currently offers full text of articles for 200 complete journal runs.
- Russian
Academy of Sciences Bibliographies
Index to materials in the humanities and social sciences published 1992-present
in the Commonwealth of Independent States, Eastern Europe and elsewhere,
including books, manuscripts, dissertations, and articles from more
than 10,000 periodicals. Subject headings are in Russian (with some
in English), as are most of the materials indexed.
- Web of Science. 1975-
Includes the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts &
Humanities Citation Index. Volumes for earlier years back to 1956
are in Reference at Z 7161 .S67 (Social Sciences Citation Index)
Top of Page
Web
Megasites: History & Biography
Top of Page
Biographical
Research
- Biography
Index
Indexes articles and other material since 1984 about people from antiquity
to the present from all fields and nationalities. Directions: Check
the box next to 'Biography Index 1984-present', then click on one the
'Search or 'Browse' buttons from the menu in the upper right hand corner
of the screen.
- Encyclopedia of world biography. 2nd ed. Detroit
: Gale Research, c1998-c2000. 20 vols. [Biography Table CT 103 .E56
1998]
- Moncure, James A., ed. Research guide to European
historical biography, 1450-present. Washington, D.C. : Beacham Pub.,
1992- 93.
[Z 5304 .C44R47 1992] Reference has vols. 1-4; vols. 5-8 are
on order.
- World
Biographical Index
Indexes huge microfiche collection (located in YRL Reference) of short
biographical entries from a variety of sources about eminent individuals who
lived in North and South America, Western and Central Europe, Australia, New
Zealand, and Oceania. Indexes many biographical archives which YRL Reference
& Instructional Services has in microfiche. The fiche contains the complete texts of the biographical descriptions, while the Web site indicates birth and death years, occupation, source quoted (archive, fiche-number and page) and bibliographic information about the sources used.
| Country/Nationality |
Series/Set |
Microfiche Call number in Reference room fiche cabinet |
Call number of index on Biography Table in Reference |
| Baltic countries |
|
CT 1232.5 .B33 1995 |
|
Benelux countries
(Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg) |
|
CT 1163 .B56 1992 |
|
| Czechoslovakia & Slovakia |
|
CT 933 .C47 1992 |
|
| France |
|
CT 1002 .A734 1988 |
|
| |
2nd series |
CT 1003 .A73 1993 |
|
| |
Index |
|
CT 1002 .A734i 1993 |
| Germany |
DBA I |
DD 85 .D48 |
|
| |
DBA II |
DD 85 .D48 1990 |
|
| |
DBA III |
CT 1053 .D483 1999 |
|
| |
Index 2nd ed |
|
DD 85 .D48 1998 |
| Great Britain |
|
CT 1771 .B74 |
|
| |
Index |
|
CT 1773 .B75 1990 |
| Greece |
|
DF 835 .G75 1998 |
|
| Hungary |
|
CT 963 .U54 1993 |
|
| Italy |
|
DG 533 .A1A73 1988 |
|
| |
New ser. ABI II |
CT 1123 .A73 1992 |
|
| |
Index |
|
DG 533 .A1A73 1988 |
| Jewish |
|
DS 115 .J83 1994 |
|
| Poland |
|
CT 1230 .P65 1993 |
|
| Russia |
|
CT 1203 .R87 1997 |
|
| Scandinavia |
|
CT 1243 .S23 1990 |
|
| |
Index |
|
CT 1243 .S33 1994 |
| Southeastern Europe |
|
DR 33 .S83 1997 |
|
| Spain, Portugal |
|
DP 58 .A52 1986 |
|
| |
2nd ed. |
DP 58 .A52 1993 |
|
| |
Index |
|
CT 1345 .I53 2000 |
Top of Page
Compiled by Patti S. Caravello, March 2003
|