a Science & Engineering Library (SEL) page

UCLA users with valid UCLA Logon IDs can access restricted resources from home using UCLA's Bruin Online proxy or VPN (Virtual Private Network ) servers.

* Indicates part of Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Database collection

Coverage

Database/Provider

Guides

Description

1975+

ADS (NASA Astrophysics Data System)

Tutorial (pdf)

Covers astronomy, astrophysics, geophysics, and physics.

1962+

Aerospace & High Technology (CSA)

 

Covers aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences.

 

Agricola (NAL)

 

Citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and others, including printed works from the 15th century.

1993+

*Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts (CSA)

 

Covers agricultural products involving both plants and animals, new applications across the food industry, and wide-ranging environmental developments.

1977+

America's Newspapers 1977+

 

 

1983+

Applied Science & Technology

 

Covers popular scientific literature in all disciplines. Online equivalent of Applied Science & Technology Index with links to full text articles.

1990+

*ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality (CSA)

 

Covers research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, rivers, and estuaries.

1990+

Article First (journals) (OCLC FirstSearch)

 

Citations from the table of contents of journals in the sciences, social sciences, the humanities, and popular culture.

1982+

*Bacteriology Abstracts (CSA)

 

Covers clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics.

1926+

BIOSIS (life sciences) (ISI) 1926+

 

Citations to journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports, in all areas of the life sciences and biology, many of which contain abstracts.

 

Business Databases by Type

 

 

 

Business Source Premier (EBSCO)

 

Full text from scholarly business journals and other sources such as management journals, marketing journals and economic reports.

 

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)

 

 

1907+

CASREACT (SciFinder Scholar)

 

See SciFinder Scholar description.

1907+

Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder Scholar)

 

See SciFinder Scholar description.

1884+

Compendex (engineering) (Engineering Village 2)

Guide (pdf)

Indexes over 2600 journals, books, reports and conference papers in science, engineering & technology.  Online equivalent of Engineering Index.

 

CrossFire (Beilstein & Gmelin)

 

Access to Beilstein's Handbuch der Organischen Chemie, and Gmelin's Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie. Provides chemical data on organic substances and reactions, including structures, properties, bioactivity records, preparation details and specific reaction pathways; also provides citations and some abstracts to the primary organic chemistry literature.

1975+

Current Index to Statistics

 

Covers publications in statistics and related fields.

1948-2000

Declassified Documents Reference Service (DDRS) (Gale InfoTrac)

 

Covers previously classified government documents.

1861+

Dissertation Abstracts (UMI ProQuest)

 

Provides access to American Ph.D. dissertations since 1861. Abstracts provided for all Ph.D. & Masters Theses since 1988.  Full-text of UC dissertations, 1998+.

1971+

Earthquake Engineering Abstracts

 

Over 70,000 articles on earthquake engineering, prediction and public policy with worldwide coverage.

 

EBSCO Business Source Premier (EBSCO)

 

See Business Source Premiere description.

1982+

*Ecology Abstracts (CSA)

 

Covers ecology research across a wide range of disciplines.

1985+

*EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements (CSA)

 

Indexes federal government-issued environmental impact statements.

1948+

*Energy Citations Database (OSTI)

 

Department Of Energy's (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) provides over 2 million citations.

1990+

*Environmental Engineering Abstracts (CSA)

 

Covers pollution control and waste management, with emphasis on technological and engineering aspects of air & water quality maintenance, & alternative energy sources.

1981+

*Environmental Science, Pollution Management (CSA)

 

Includes subfiles covering all aspects of the environment including water toxicology, waste management, and federal policies.

1980+

Expanded Academic ASAP (magazines) (Gale InfoTrac)

 

Several thousand periodicals including general science journals on broad based topics with links to many full-text articles.

 

Factiva (news & business) (Dow Jones & Reuters)

 

Access to business and general news sources, including newspapers, magazines, wire services, Web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications..

1785+

GEOREF (geology, geophysics) (CSA)

 

3500 journals in the geological sciences, plus USGS, Canadian & state survey publications, theses, maps & guidebooks.  Online equivalent of Bibliography and Index of Geology.  Coverage for areas outside North America begins in 1933.

 

GeoRef In Process

 

Contains records that are in the process of being indexed prior to their integration in the main GeoRef database.

1976+

GPO (U.S. government publications)

 

Complete text of government information from the U.S. Government Printing Office.

 

Gale InfoTrac (all databases)

 

InfoTrac Gale (all databases)

1981+

*Health & Safety Science Abstracts (CSA)

 

Covers issues relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene.

 

History of Science, Technology and Medicine

 

Contains citations from publications in the history of science, the history of technology, and allied historical fields in a variety of languages.

Date varies

IEEE Xplore

 

Covers IEEE publications including journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards.

 

Information Bridge

 

 

1969+

INSPEC (electrical engineering, computers, physics) (OVID)

Guide (pdf)

Covers journal and conference proceedings indexed by Physics Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts, and Computer & Control Abstracts.

1868-1968

Inspec Archive (Ovid) 1898-1968

 

 

1982+

*Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (CSA)

 

Covers agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries.

 

InfoTrac Gale (all databases)

 

InfoTrac Gale (all databases)

Date varies

LEXIS-NEXIS (news, law, reference)

 

Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal and reference information including company, industry and market news; also general medical & health topics.

1985-present

Los Angeles Times Current

 

Offers full text from 1985 to the present

1881-1923

Los Angeles Times Archive

 

Offers full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 1985 and full text from 1985 to the present.

1988+

Magazines (Expanded Academic ASAP) (Gale InfoTrac)

 

Several thousand periodicals including general science journals on broad based topics with links to many full-text articles.

1940+

MathSciNet

 

Online equivalent of Mathematical Reviews with links to many full-text articles.  Produced by the American Mathematical Society.

Date varies

MDConsult

 

Full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and Continuing Medical Education materials.

1974+

Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (CSA)

 

Over 180,000 abstracts on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry, and related environmental sciences.

 

NACA Technical Report Server (NACA Technical Reports) (NASA)

 

Abstracts and full texts of publications published under the auspices of the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics, 1917-1958.

1964+

NTIS (government technical information) (CSA)

 

Covers U.S. government sponsored research & worldwide scientific, technical and business related information.

 

OCLC FirstSearch (all databases)

 

 

 

OVID (all databases)

 

 

1972+

PAIS (public affairs) (CSA)

 

Covers social and public policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics.

1993+

PapersFirst (OCLC FirstSearch)

 

Provides citations to presented papers in all disciplines.

1981+

*Pollution Abstracts (CSA)

 

Comprehensive coverage of pollution research.

1993+

Proceedings (OCLC FirstSearch)

 

Provides lists of papers presented at conferences, meetings, and congresses.

1966+

PubMed (MEDLINE/HealthSTAR)

 

Covers medical literature.

 

RLG Eureka

 

RLG Eureka (all databases)

1890-1982

Readers Guide Retrospective

 

Indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States.

1990+

*Risk Abstracts (CSA)

 

Encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk.

1906+

SAE Digital Library

 

Covers technical papers, magazine and journal articles, books, reports, and standards published by the Society of Automotive Engineers.

Date varies

Science Citation Index (Web of Science)

 

See Web of Science description.

1907+

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) 1907+

Guide

Includes Chemical Abstracts (1907+), Registry (1957+), and CASREACT (1907+) databases.  Requires a downloaded client for MS Windows or Apple Macintosh.  Unavailable from campus proxy server; access available from campus VPN after installing a specified VPN client

Date varies

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)

 

See Web of Science description.

1963+

Sociological Abstracts (CSA)

 

Indexes publications in sociology and the social and behavioral sciences.

Date varies

Statistical Universe

 

Provides access to statistical sources from federal agencies, state governments, international intergovernmental organizations, and private and academic sources.

Last 6 years

TOXLINE (CSA)

 

Coverage of all areas of toxicology, including chemicals, pesticides, and environmental pollution.

1981+

*Toxicology Abstracts (CSA)

 

Covers social poisons, substance abuse, natural toxins, hydrocarbon studies, radiation effects, and associated legislation and standards.

1967+

*Water Resources Abstracts (CSA)

 

Covers conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use & management of water resources worldwide.  Indexes books, journals, technical  & government reports.

Date varies

Web of Science (Web of Knowledge)

Guide (pdf)

Online equivalent of Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities Citation Indexes.

1990+

Zoological Record

 

Covers all areas of zoology including paleontology.

 



(About SEL) - Library as a Place (streaming Java presentation)

The Science & Engineering Library, an individual library of the UCLA Library at the University of California, Los Angeles

Banner is composed of selected images from Joseph Young's "History of Mathematics" mural © 1968