Guide to library reference sources
Gabriella Gray, April, 2004
Last Updated: March 15, 2006

 

This guide lists a small selection of reference sources located in the Young Research Library's Reference & Instructional Services (1st floor), as well as links to periodical indexes and other Web resources. Through the quarter we may add sections and resources to these lists.

selected print resources

  • Boles, Janet K and Long Hoeveler, Diane. Historical dictionary of feminism. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, c1996.
  • YRL Reference Reading Room: HQ 1115 .B65 1996
  • Encyclopedia of feminist theories. edited by Lorraine Code. London ; New York : Routledge, 2000.
  • YRL Reference Reading Room: HQ 1190 .E63 2000
  • College Library Main Reading Room Reference: HQ 1190 .E63 2000
  • Encyclopedia of women and gender : sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender. editor-in-chief, Judith Worell. San Diego, Calif. : Academic Press, c2001.
  • YRL Reference Reading Room: HQ 1115 E43 2001
  • College Library Main Reading Room Reference: HQ 1115 E43 2001
  • Handbook of American women's history. Angela M. Howard & Frances M. Kavenik, editors. 2nd ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2000.
  • YRL Reference Reading Room: HQ 1410 H36 2000
  • Harlan, Judith. Feminism : a reference handbook. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c1998.
  • YRL Reference Reading Room: HQ 1410 .H365 1998
  • Humm, Maggie. The dictionary of feminist theory. 2nd ed. Columbus : Ohio State University Press, c1995.
  • YRL Reference Reading Room: HQ 1115 H85 1995

  • International encyclopedia of marriage and family. James J. Ponzetti, Jr., editor in chief. 2nd ed. 4 v. New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2003.
  • College Library Main Reading Room Reference: HQ 9 E52 2003
  • Rev. ed. of: Encyclopedia of marriage and the family c1995 which is located in the:
    YRL Reference Reading Room: HQ 9 E52 1995
  • International handbook on gender roles. edited by Leonore Loeb Adler. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1993.
  • YRL Reference Reading Room: HQ 1075 I58 1993
  • College Library Main Reading Room Reference: HQ1075 I58 1993
  • Political and historical encyclopedia of women. Christine Faure, editor ; translated by Richard Dubois [et al.]. New York : Routledge, 2003.
  • YRL Reference Reading Room: HQ 1236.5 E85E52 2003
  • Reader's guide to women's studies. Editor, Eleanor B. Amico. Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998.
  • YRL Reference Reading Room: Z 7961 .R43 1998
  • College Library: Z 7961 R43 1998/Reference Case
  • Routledge international encyclopedia of women : global women's issues and knowledge. Cheris Kramarae and Dale Spender, general editors. 4 vols. New York : Routledge, 2000.
  • YRL Reference Reading Room: HQ 1115 .R69 2000
  • Tierney, Helen, Ed. Women's studies encyclopedia. Rev. and expanded ed. 3 vols. New York : Greenwood Press, 1999.
  • YRL Reference Reading Room: HQ 1115 .W645 1999
  • United Nations. The United Nations and the advancement of women, 1945-1996 with an introduction by Boutros Boutros-Ghali. Rev. ed. New York : Dept. of Public Information, United Nations, c1996.
  • YRL Reference Reading Room: HQ 1154 .U56 1996
  • College Library Stacks: HQ 1154 .U56 1996
  • Women in the Third World : an encyclopedia of contemporary issues. editor, Nelly P. Stromquist; assistant editor, Karen Monkman. New York : Garland Pub., 1998.
  • YRL Reference Reading Room: HQ1870.9 W6548 1998

  • Women's issues. Consulting editor, Margaret McFadden. 3 vols. Pasadena, Calif. : Salem Press, c1997.
  • YRL Reference Reading Room: HQ 1115 .W6425 1997

selected eletronic resources

Access to the "Selected Electronic Resources" listed below are restricted to computers with a
UCLA IP address or remote users dialing into campus via Bruin Online (BOL). Users who are
using other Internet Service Providers (ISP), cable modems or DSL lines are denied access unless
the BOL proxy server is used to reach the restricted content. The BOL proxy server is open to all
students, faculty, and staff members that have a Bruin OnLine account.

For instructions on configuring your computer to access the BOL Proxy Server, http://www.bol.ucla.edu/services/proxy/

These resources can be accessed via this webpage or via the YRL Reference & Instructional Services Article Databases page.


These resources are particularly relevant to your research topics:

  • Women's Studies International
  • Combined access to several women's studies databases from 1972 to the present, including Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Database, POPLINE, and Women of Color. Covers feminism, history, ethnic studies, health, social sciences, U.S. and worldwide.
  • GenderWatch [Full Text]
  • Contains the full text of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas from the 1970's to the present.  Provides in-depth coverage of  subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives.
  • Family & Society Studies Worldwide
  • Indexes a wide range of social science disciplines from 1970 to the present including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work.
  • Contemporary Women's Issues [Full Text]
  • Provides full-text access to journals, hard-to-find newsletters, reports, pamphlets, fact sheets, and guides regarding a broad array of gender-related issues from 1992 to the present.
  • PsycINFO
  • Contains citations to articles in over 1,300 professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines from January 1887 to the present.

Additional electronic resources to aid you in your research

  • Chicano Database
  • Indexes all types of materials in the areas of Mexican-American topics from 1967 to the present and, since 1992, materials on other Latino cultures.

  • Ethnic NewsWatch [Full Text]
  • Contains the complete text of articles since 1990 from 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press, along with archival material dating back to the mid 1980's. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
  • EBSCO Academic Search Complete [Some Full Text]
  • Indexes periodicals in all subject areas from 1980 to the present, both popular & scholarly. Includes scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text.
  • LexisNexis Academic [Full Text]
  • Complete text and index of articles in newspapers and periodicals for about the last 20 years in a wide range of topics including current affairs, business, law, and medicine.
    Note: Only the current six months of the Los Angeles Times are included in LexisNexis Academic. For earlier articles use: Los Angeles Times via ProQuest - Current (1985-Current) [Full Text]
  • GLBT Life
  • A resource for literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 120 GLBT-specific core periodicals. Also contains data mined from over 40 priority periodicals as well as data mined from over 1400 select titles.
  • Web of Science
  • The Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Science Citation Index, 1975 to the present. Covers thousands of journals in a wide array of disciplines.