UCLA Library Collections and Internet Resources in:

SCANDINAVIAN STUDIES

 

from Bayeux Tapestry

Subject Specialist for Western European Studies: Katalin Radics
Recommend a Purchase
UCLA Scandinavian Section

Primary Sources: CD-ROM | Major Microfilm Sets
Reference Resources: General Works | Article Databases | Disciplinary Databases with some German Materials
Library Catalogs and Archives in Scandinavia | Scandinavian Languages, Literature, History
News and Newspapers | Associations and Societies | Dissertations

 

Primary Sources

Primary Sources on CD-ROM

Sagas of Icelanders / Íslendinga sögur PT7261 .I85 1996 Microform and Media

Vikingar DL65 V55 Microform and Media

back to contents

Primary Sources in Major Microfilm Sets

Scandinavian Culture Series (Scandinavian Books before 1701) Searchable guide linked to UCLA Library cataloging record. PT7013

 back to contents

Reference Resources

General Works

Svenska Akademiens Ordbok

National Biography of Finland

Dictionaries

Danish-English, English-Danish Dictionary

Finnish-English, English-Finnish Dictionary

Icelandic Online Dictionary and Readings

Norwegian-English, English-Norwegian Dictionary

Swedish-English, English-Swedish Dictionary

Directories

The Nordic Pages

Denmark

Finland

Iceland

Norway

Sweden

back to contents

Article Databases

Electronic databases are the best tools for finding articles, biographical information, statistical or economic data, and legal information. Some of the databases present and offer for search not only the bibliographic information (author, title, subject etc.) of the articles but the full texts of the articles themselves too. The yellow UC eLinks symbol leads to UCLA or UC holdings of the item retrieved.

If you do not know which database to use for your research needs, ask a librarian or review the selected list of UCLA E-Resources.

The easiest way to access any article database is from the UCLA Library home page, under Search and Find, and E-Resources. Type the name of the database into the search box. Below is a short list of the most useful ones for Scandinavian studies.

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes bibliographic data of journal articles, dissertations, collected works in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1963 to the present (MLA search guide).

IBZ : International Bibliography of Periodical Literature (Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur)
Multilingual database, indexing over 5600 periodicals, including a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent, 1983 to the present.

JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.

Project Muse
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.

Periodicals Archives Online (formerly PCI Full Text)
Indexes thousands of periodicals in the social sciences and humanities from 1770-1995, and currently offers full text of articles for 200 complete journal runs.

FRANCIS
A bibliographic index to multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, social sciences, economics, religion, the history of art and literature from 1984 to the present. Represents a wide range of materials, including serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports. Prepared by the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du CNRS.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: (LLBA)
Abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials in the fields of linguistics, language behavior and related disciplines, as well as books, book chapters, occasional papers, technical reports and dissertations. Many European linguistic journals are also indexed.

Historical Abstracts
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1967.

Elektronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek
You have to know the bibliographic data of the journal and/or article you want to read in order to use this database, because it is searchable only by journal title, not on the article level. It contains 15046 titles, among them 1763 online-only journals, covering all subjects. 4871 journals, the ones with a green light icon, can be accessed free-of-charge.

back to contents

Disciplinary Databases with some Scandinavian Materials

Bibliography of the History of Art

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

Gale's Literary Index

Inter-Play: An online index to plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals

International Bibliography of Book Reviews
This database contains over one million entries about book reviews from 1985 onwards. It is international (mostly from Europe and the United States) and interdisciplinary and its reviews have been published in more than 6600 academic journals, mainly in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

International Index to the Performing Arts, IIPA Full Text

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

KVINNSAM (Women's History Department, Gothenburg University)

Literature Resource Center

Sociological Abstracts

back to contents

Library Catalogs and Archives in Scandinavia

Nordic Libraries Information Server

Denmark

Det Kongelige Bibliotek/The Danish Royal Library

Nationalbibliografi (Royal Library)

Finland

Helsinki University Library/ The National Library of Finland

FENNICA, the Finnish national bibliography (in Finnish only)

Iceland

National and University Library of Iceland

Norway

Nasjonalbiblioteket / National Library of Norway

BIBSYS - Gateway to all national and university libraries in Norway

Norwegian National Bibliography

Sweden

Libris - Union catalog of some 200 Swedish libraries

Libris: Artikeldatabasen - Approximately 40,000 references to Swedish articles

The Swedish Royal Library

Swedish National Bibliography - Books

Swedish National Bibliography - Periodicals

back to contents

Scandinavian Languages, Literature, History

Henrik Ibsen: Skuespill (Ibsen’s plays online)

Scandinavian History

Scandinavian Languages and Literatures

Scandinavian Politics and Government

back to contents

News and Newspapers

Links to newspapers and news in Scandinavia

back to contents

Associations and Societies

Society for the Advancement of Scandinavian Study

Finnish Literature Society

back to contents

Dissertations

ProQuest Digital Dissertations
Includes Dissertation Abstracts International, but only a small fraction of dissertations written abroad are actually included into the database. The index of US dissertations goes from 1861 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Complete text of dissertations and theses from University of California campuses since 1997 is available at no charge to download in PDF format. The first 24 pages of all items since 1997 are available to preview at no charge.

Denmark: Det Kongelige Bibliotek/The Danish Royal Library
Use one of these words: "thesis," "dissertation," or "afhandling" (the latter if you want dissertations in Danish) together with your search terms.

Norway: Nasjonalbiblioteket
Choose "Post graduate theses" from the Search box when searching for dissertations.

Sweden: Libris
Choose "Dissertations" from the "Type of publication" box when searching for dissertations.

Iceland: Gegnir
Click on "Námsritgerðir" (Icelandic interface) or "Thesis search" (English interface) in the left upper corner when searching for dissertations.

Finland: HELKA
Go to Search, and then to Advanced Search. Select Väitöskirja/Dissertation from the Search in box when searching for dissertations.

For a detailed guide to foreign dissertation searching please see How to find Foreign Dissertations.

back to contents

Page created and maintained by Katalin Radics, Subject Specialist for Western European Studies
Last updated: February 1, 2006 © Regents of the University of California