- UCLA Library Catalog
- Melvyl
(UC Libraries catalog)
- WorldCat
- Article Databases
- Reference Collection Online
- Online Materials
- Purchase
Recommendation
- Interlibrary
Loan
-
- Campus
Libraries
- UCLA Library Home
- UCLA Home
- YRL Home
-
-
|
|
This is a list of very useful article databases for your topics.
For databases in additional disciplines of the social sciences and humanities,
use the RIS Article Databases site.
- America History
& Life
- Index and abstracts for articles on the history
of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, published
since 1964.

- Biography Index
- Indexes articles and other material since 1984
about people from antiquity to the present from all fields and nationalities.

- Directions: Check the box next to 'Biography Index 1984-present',
then click on one the'Search or 'Browse' buttons from the menu in the
upper right hand corner of the screen.
- CIAO: Columbia
International Affairs Online
- Covering theory and research in international
affairs, indexes and provides complete text of a wide range of scholarship
from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes,
occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects,
and proceedings from conferences. The complete text of journal articles
is available on the database for all or some of the journals indexed.
- EconLit (Index
to Economics journals 1969 to the present.)

- Use the Descriptors Indexes field and search for Technological-Change-Government-Policy.
- Essay & General
Literature Index
- Indexes essays and articles contained in book
collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the U. S.,
Great Britain, and Canada, 1985-present, in the social sciences &
humanities. More than 300 volumes are indexed annually. Additionally,
more than 20 annuals and serial publications are indexed.

- Directions: Check the box next to 'Essay and General
Literature', then click on one of the 'Search' or 'Browse' buttons from
the menu in the upper right hand corner of the screen.
- FRANCIS
- An index to multilingual, multidisciplinary information
in the humanities, social sciences, economics, religion, the history
of art, and literature from 1984 to the present.

- Historical Abstracts
- Index and abstracts for articles on the history
of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and
Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since
1967.

- History of Science,
Technology, and Medicine
- Contains citations from journal articles, conference
proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of
science, the history of technology, and allied historical fields in
a variety of languages. Covers 1976 - present.

- Isis. 1913- 2001.
(via JSTOR)
- The 5th issue each year is a critical, international
bibliography of recent works on the history of science.
[Issues for 2002-present available in print: YRL Stacks Q2.I81]

- Science Citation
Index (via ISI Web of Science)
- Social Sciences
Citation Index (via ISI Web of Science
- Arts & Humanities
Citation Index (via ISI Web of Science)
- A multidisciplinary database of article citations
gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, 1975-present. Search
by topic, author, journal title, or cited author (to identify articles
that cite an author or article that you specify). Users can also search
the Arts & Humanities Citation Index and the Social Sciences Citation
Index simultaneously.
- Technology and
Culture. 1998-present (via Project Muse)
- Provides a "Current Bibliography in the History
of Technology" as an annual supplementary issue. [YRL Stacks for earlier volumes CB478.T22]

Compiled by Patti S. Caravello & Miki
Goral, April 2003
|