- UCLA Library Catalog
- Melvyl
(UC Libraries Catalog)
- WorldCat
- Article Databases
- Reference Collection Online
- Online Materials
- Purchase
Recommendation
- Interlibrary
Loan
-
- Campus
Libraries
- UCLA Library Home
- UCLA Home
- YRL Home
-
-
|
|
Use this guide as you begin your research. It includes a selection of
reference sources located in Young Research Library Reference
& Instructional Services (RIS) unless otherwise indicated.
- For background information, use the specialized encyclopedias,
bibliographies, gazetteers and atlases in the
RIS Department.
- To find BOOKS in the library, take a quick look at the
suggested subject headings to search with, and then
try them in the Melvyl
Catalog.
- To find PERIODICAL ARTICLES, use periodical
indexes geared to this subject area.
- Some excellent, authoritative Web sites
on this topic might also be useful for additional kinds of information.
- Included also is a library resources
and services guide for information, additional research resources,
and current circulation services (renewals, holds, SRLF paging, etc.).
- Clark, Audrey N. Longman dictionary of geography:
human and physical. London ; New York: Longman, 1985. [Reference
Desk - G 63 C56 1985]
- The Columbia
gazetteer of the world. Ed. Saul B. Cohen. New York : Columbia
University Press, 1998. [Reference Desk - G 103.5 C645 1998]
Earlier editions of this work, useful for historical purposes, can be
found as follows:
- Lippincott's pronouncing gazetteer. 1855. [YRL
Stacks - {*} G 103 L66 1855]
- A Complete pronouncing gazetteer. 1871. [YRL
Room A4510 - G 103 L66 1871]
- A Complete pronouncing gazetteer. 1905. [YRL
Stacks - G 103.C73 1905]
- Lippincott's gazetteer of the world. 1880. [SRLF
Shelving number: D 000 315 328 5]
- The Columbia Lippincott gazetteer of the world.
1952. [YRL Stacks - {*} G 103 C723]
- The Columbia Lippincott gazetteer of the world. 1962.
[Reference Reading Room - G 103 C723 1962]
- Conzen, Michael P, Rumney, Thomas A. and Wynn, Graeme.
A scholar's guide to geographical writing on the American and Canadian
past. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, c1993.
[Reference Reading Room - Z 1247 C66 1993]
- Encyclopedia of rural America: the land and people.
Gary A. Goreham, editor. Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, 1997. [Reference
Reading Room - E 169.12 E5 1997]
- McManis, Douglas R. Historical geography of the United
States; a bibliography, excluding Alaska and Hawaii. {Ypsilanti?}:
Eastern Michigan University, 1965.
[Reference Reading Room - Z 1236 M227h]
- Larkin, Robert P. and Peters, Gary L. Dictionary of
concepts in human geography. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1983.
[Reference Desk - GF 4 L37 1983]
- Monkhouse, Francis John. A dictionary of geography.
2nd ed. London: Edward Arnold, 1970. [Reference Reading Room - G
103 M749d 1970]
- Ward, Dederick C., Wheeler, Marjorie W. and Bier, Robert
A., Jr. Geologic reference sources : a subject and regional bibliography
of publications and maps in the geological sciences. 2nd ed. Metuchen,
NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1981.
[YRL Stacks - Z 6031 W211g 1981]
top of page
- Atlas of American history. 2d. rev. ed. New York : Scribner,
1984.
[Reference Desk - G 1201 S1A214 1984]
- Lord, Clifford Lee and Lord, Elizabeth H. Historical
atlas of the United States. Rev. ed. New York, Holt, 1953. [Reference
Reading Room - E 179.5 L88h 1953]
- National Geographic Society (U.S.) Historical atlas
of the United States. Washington, D.C. : National Geographic Society,
1988. [Atlas Case A 11 - {**} G 1201 S1N3 1988]
- Paullin, Charles Oscar. Atlas of the historical geography
of the United States, edited by John K. Wright. Washington, D.C.,
New York: Pub. jointly by Carnegie Institution of Washington and the
American Geographical Society of New York, 1932.
[YRL Room A4510 - {*} E 179.5 P28a]
top of page
The Melvyl
Catalog and UCLA Library Catalog list
books by topic under Library of Congress Subject Headings. Here is a sampling
of headings you might try:
| Clearing of land--[state] |
Natural resources--United States--History |
| Conservation of natural resources--United States
| Social ecology |
| Environmental policy--United States--History |
Soils--United States |
| Forests and forestry--United States--History |
United States--Climate |
| Geology--[state] |
United States--Historical geography |
| Human beings--Effect of environment on--U.S. |
[state or region]--Climate |
| Human ecology--United States--History |
[state or region]--Description and travel |
| Human geography--United States |
[state or region]--Geography |
| Land settlement--United States--History |
[state or region]--Historical geography |
| Landscape--United States--History |
[state or region]--Maps |
top of page
Periodical indexes enable you to find articles on your topic, reviews
of the literature, and book reviews. The following indexes, lead to articles
on historical geography.
- America: History
& Life (1964- )
- Index to journal articles about U.S. and Canadian
history from prehistoric times to the present.
- GeoRef
(1785- )
- Index to publications in geology, geophysics,
and the history of the earth.
- History
of Science & Technology @ RLG (1976- )
- Citations to journal articles, conference proceedings,
books, book reviews, and dissertations including historical geography.
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete (1980- )
- Indexes periodicals in all subject areas from
1980 to the present, both popular & scholarly. Includes scholarly journals,
news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images.
- Periodical Contents
Index
- Indexes thousands of periodicals in the social
sciences & humanities from 1770-1995, and currently offers full text
of articles for 200 complete journal runs.
- Web of Science (1975- )
- The Social Sciences Citation Index (1975-present),
Science Citation Index (1975-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation
Index (1975-present). Covers thousands of journals in a wide array of
disciplines. Search by topic, author, journal title, or cited author
(to identify articles which cite that author's article).
In YRL Reference & Instructional Services:
- Geographical Abstracts. Human geography. 1989-
(formerly with other subtitles: Social and historical geography,
Economic geography, Regional and community planning).
[Reference Reading Room - Z 6001 G295]
top of page
Instead of starting out in a generic search engine, try starting your
Web search in one of the following sites which bring together a variety
of academic resources.
For advice on using web resources, see Judging
Quality on the Web.
For information on electronic citation styles, see Citing
Internet Sources.
top of page
|