- UCLA Library Catalog
- Melvyl
(UC Libraries catalog)
- WorldCat
- Article Databases
- Reference Collection Online
- Online Materials
- Purchase
Recommendation
- Interlibrary
Loan
-
- Campus
Libraries
- UCLA Library Home
- UCLA Home
- European Studies
- History & Biography
- Language & Linguistics
- Literature
- Politics & Government
- General Sources
- YRL Home
-
|
|
POLITICS & GOVERNMENT
Bibliographic
Guides | Encyclopedias & Handbooks | Government
Information
Globalization & European Integration | Article
Databases & Indexes
Materials
are located in the YRL Reference Reading Room unless otherwise indicated.
Bibliographic
Guides: Politics & Government
- Guide to official publications of foreign countries
/ American Library Association, Government Documents Round Table. 2nd
ed. [Bethesda, Md.] : CIS, c1997. [Ref Desk Z 7164 .G7G83 1997]
- Guide to country information in international governmental
organization publications American Library Association, Government Documents
Round Table. [edited by Marian Shaaban ; assistant editor, Carolyn
Kohler]. [Bethesda, Md.?] : Congressional Information Service, c1996.
[Ref Desk Z 6464 .I6G85 1996]
- Political
Resources on the Net
- York, Henry E. Political Science: A Guide to Reference
and Information Sources. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1990.
[Ref Desk Z 7161 .Y75 1990]
Top of Page
Encyclopedias
& Handbooks: Politics & Government
- Country Information
- Day, Alan J., Roger East, Richard Thomas. A political
and economic dictionary of Eastern Europe. Cambridge: Europa, 2002.
[DJK 42 .P65 2002]
- Economist
Intelligence Unit
Country Profiles and Country Reports which provide analysis and forecasts
of the political, economic and business environment in more than 180
countries.
- The Europa world year book. 30th ed. (1989)-
London, England: Europa Publications Limited, c1989- [Ref Desk D
904 .E93]
- This annual began in 1959 under the title The Europa
Year Book. Since 1960, it covers the whole world, not just Europe.
- Eastern Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent
States (1992-) [Ref Desk HC 244 .E225]
- World
Factbook (Central Intelligence Agency)
Top of Page
Government
Information
Top of Page
Globalization
& European Integration
Top of Page
Article
Databases & Indexes: Politics & Government
- American
Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES)
Covers North American scholarship since the late 1980s on Eastern Europe,
Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Indexes journal articles, books,
book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government
publications.
- Annual
Review of Political Science
Bibliographic essays reviewing the year's scholarship in Political Science.
- Columbia
International Affairs Online
Covering theory and research in international affairs, indexes and provides
complete text of a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes
working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers
series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings
from conferences.
- IBZ,
Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur (International
Bibliography of Periodical Literature)
Multilingual database, indexing over 5600 periodicals, including a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent, 1983 to the present.
- PAIS
International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Index (with abstracts since 1985) to articles, books, conference proceedings,
and government documents on social and political policy, political science,
public administration, current affairs, and related topics, from 1972
to the present.
- PARLIT
Database
Database of bibliographic references on the role, structure and working
methods of national parliaments, and on electoral systems, constitutional
law, history and political science, from 1992- present.
- Periodicals Archives Online (formerly PCI Full Text):
Indexes thousands of periodicals in the social sciences and humanities from 1770-1995, and currently offers full text of articles for 200 complete journal runs.
- Russian
Academy of Sciences Bibliographies
Index to materials in the humanities and social sciences published 1992-present
in the Commonwealth of Independent States, Eastern Europe and elsewhere,
including books, manuscripts, dissertations, and articles from more
than 10,000 periodicals. Subject headings are in Russian (with some
in English), as are most of the materials indexed.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (via ISI Web of Science)
A multidisciplinary database of article citations gathered from thousands
of scholarly journals, 1975-present. Search by topic, author, journal
title, or cited author (to identify articles that cite an author or
article that you specify). Users can also search the Arts & Humanities
Citation Index and the Science Citation Index simultaneously.
- UNBISnet
(United Nations Bibliographic Information System)
Catalog of UN publications and documentation, and some non-UN publications,
indexed by theUnited Nations Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the Library
of the UN Office at Geneva. Coverage is primarily from 1979 forward,
however indexing for resolutions of the General Assembly, Economic and
Social Council, Security Council and Trusteeship Council are included
back to 1946. Also includes an index to voting records and an index
to speeches.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
- Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science, international relations, law, and public policy. Built on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000.

Top of Page
Compiled by Patti S. Caravello, March 2003
|