- UCLA Library Catalog
- Melvyl
(UC Libraries catalog)
- WorldCat
- Article Databases
- Reference Collection Online
- Online Materials
- Purchase
Recommendation
- Interlibrary
Loan
-
- Campus
Libraries
- UCLA Library Home
- UCLA Home
- European Studies
- History & Biography
- Language & Linguistics
- Literature
- Politics & Government
- General Sources
- YRL Home
-
|
|
GENERAL SOURCES
Materials
are located in the YRL Reference Reading Room unless otherwise indicated.
Bibliographic
Guides
Specific countries/areas
- Burger, Robert H. and Helen F. Sullivan. Eastern
Europe: A Bibliographic Guide to English Language Publications, 1986-1993.
Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1995. [Z 2483 .B89 1995]
- Chambers, Frances. France. (World Bibliographical
Series, vol. 206) Oxford, Eng.; Santa Barbara, CA. : Clio Press, 1998.
[DC 707 .C353 1998]
- Croucher, Murlin, ed. Slavic studies : A Guide to
Bibliographies, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks. Wilmington: Scholarly
Resources, 1993.
[Z 2483 .S554 1993]
- Iovanni, LeeAnn. Denmark. Rev. ed. (World Bibliographical
Series, vol. 83) Oxford, England; Santa Barbara, CA : Clio Press, c1999.
[Z 2561 .I58 1999]
- Pitman, Lesley. Russia/USSR. 2nd ed. (World Bibliographical
Series, vol. 6) Oxford ; Santa Barbara, CA : Clio Press, 1994. [Z
2491 .T452 1994]
- Sponza, Lucio and Diego Zancani. Italy. (World
Bibliographical Series, vol. 30) Oxford, England ; Santa Barbara, CA
: Clio Press, c1995.
[DG 417 .Z99S66 1995]
Social Sciences & Humanities
- Balay, Robert, ed. Guide to reference books.
11th ed. Chicago: American Library Association, 1996. [Ref Desk Z
1035 .M88g 1996]
- Blazek, Ron and Elizabeth Aversa. The Humanities:
A Selective Guide to Information Sources. 5th ed. Englewood, CO:
Libraries Unlimited, 2000.
[Ref Desk Z 6265 .B53 2000]
- Herron, Nancy L., ed. The Social Sciences: A Cross-Disciplinary
Guide to Selected Sources. 2nd ed. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited,
1996.
[Ref. Desk Z 7161 .S648 1996]
Covers reference materials in anthropology and other social sciences.
- Webb, William H. Sources of Information in the Social
Sciences : A Guide to the Literature. 3rd ed. Chicago ; London :
American library Association, 1986. [Ref Desk Z 7161 .S666 1986]
- Guide
to Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Information Resources
Top of Page
Web Megasites
Collections of links covering many topics in European & Russian studies
Top of Page
Encyclopedias
& Handbooks Covering All of Europe
There are many handbooks in the YRL reference collection that are useful
for European topics. The following are examples only.
- Economist
Intelligence Unit
Country Profiles and Country Reports which provide analysis and forecasts
of the political, economic and business environment in more than 180
countries.
- The Europa world year book. 30th ed. 1989- London,
England: Europa Publications Limited, c1989- [Ref Desk D 904 .E93]
This annual began in 1959 under the title The Europa Year Book. Since
1960, it covers the whole world, not just Europe.
- Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia. 2000-
London, England: Europa Publications [Ref Desk HC 244 .E225]
For 1992-98, this was published as Eastern Europe and the Commonwealth
of Independent States.
- Worldmark encyclopedia of the nations. 8th ed.
Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research, 1995. 5 vols. [Ref Desk G 63 .W67
1995] Vol. 5 is Europe.
Top of Page
General Encyclopedias from Europe and Russia
There are many other European general encyclopedias, old and new, in the
same area of the reference reading room (currently Section 202-216). Here
are a few good examples.
- Bolhaia sovetskaia entsiklopediia. Moskva: "Sov.
entsiklopediia", 1970-1978. 30 vols. in 31. [AE 55 .B64 1970]
- Brockhaus Enzyklopädie. 19th ed. Mannheim: F.A.
Brockhaus, 1986-c1996. 30 vols. [AE 27 .B78 1986]
- Enciclopedia europea. Milano: Garzanti, 1976-1997.
14 vols. [AE 35 .E53]
- Encyclopaedia universalis. Paris: Encyclopaedia
universalis, 1989-1990. 30 vols. [AE 25 .E568 1989]
- Gran enciclopedia Rialp : GER. 6th ed. Madrid:
Ediciones Rialp, 1989. 25 vols. [AE 61 .G763 1989]
Top of Page
Maps
Top of Page
Data
& Statistics
- Global
Statistics (U.N. Statistics Division)
- National
Publications and Statistical Yearbooks, Current Statistics and Internet
Sites (U.N. Statistics Division)
- Statistical
Agencies: International (U.S. Census Bureau)
- Index to international statistics: IIS. Vol.
1, no. 1 (Jan. 1983)- Washington D.C. : Congressional Information Service,
c1983-
[YRL Reference Government Resources Index Table HA 36 .I52]
- LexisNexis Statistical (Congressional Information Service, c2000- )
Summary: Indexes and abstracts printed federal, state, and international
statistical publications as well as selected business and professional
publications containing statistics. Covers: American statistics index
(ASI); Statistical reference index (SRI); and Index to international
statistics (IIS). Also includes links to other Web sites about government
statistics.
- Social portrait of Europe. 2nd ed. Luxembourg
: Office for Official Publications of the European Communities, 1996.
[HN 380.5 .A85S63 1996]
Compiled by Eurostat's Directorate for Social and Regional Statistics
and Structural Plans in conjunction with other Eurostat directorates.
Top of Page
Article
Databases & Indexes
Article
Databases
Links to periodical indexes and electronic journals in the social sciences
and humanities.
A few indexes to highlight because of their coverage of Europe and/or
Russia are listed below. All of these and many others are available
on the Article Databases page.
- American
Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES)
Covers North American scholarship since the late 1980s on Eastern Europe,
Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Indexes journal articles, books,
book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government
publications.
- European
Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSEES) (Bibliographie
européenne des travaux sur l'ex-URSS et l'Europe de l'Est. Europäische
Bibliographie zur Osteuropaforschung.)
EBSEES lists books, journal articles, reviews, and theses on Eastern
Europe (formerly Communist countries) published in Western Europe. Includes
national minorities and émigré publications. Covers works published
between 1991 and 1996.
- FRANCIS
An index to multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities,
social sciences, economics, religion, the history of art, and literature
from 1984 to the present.
- IBZ,
Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur (International
Bibliography of Periodical Literature)
Multilingual database, indexing over 5600 periodicals, including a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent, 1983 to the present.
- MLA
International Bibliography
Indexes journals, dissertations, collected works in the fields of literature,
folklore, and linguistics from 1963 to the present.
- PAIS
International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Index (with abstracts since 1985) to articles, books, conference proceedings,
and government documents on social and political policy, political science,
public administration, current affairs, and related topics, from 1972
to the present.
- Russian
Academy of Sciences Bibliographies
- Index to materials in the humanities and social sciences published 1992-present
in the Commonwealth of Independent States, Eastern Europe and elsewhere,
including books, manuscripts, dissertations, and articles from more
than 10,000 periodicals. Subject headings are in Russian (with some
in English), as are most of the materials indexed.
- Web of Science
- The Social Sciences Citation Index (1975-present), Arts &
Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), and Science Citation
Index (1975-present). Covers thousands of journals in a wide array
of disciplines. Search by topic, author, journal title, or cited author
(to identify articles which cite that author's article).
Top of Page
Dissertations
- ProQuest Digital Dissertations
- Index to doctoral dissertations from 1861 to the present,
with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed,
with abstracts since 1988. Complete text of dissertations and theses
from University of California campuses since 1997 is available at no
charge to download in PDF format. The first 24 pages of all items since
1997 are available to preview at no charge.
Top of Page
Archives
& Manuscripts
- DeWitt, Donald L. Guides to archives and manuscript
collections in the United States : an annotated bibliography. Westport,
Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1994. [Ref Desk CD 3022 .A2D48 1994]
- National Historical Publications and Records Commission.
Directory of archives and manuscript repositories in the United States.
Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1988. [Ref desk CD 3020 .U58d 1988]
For archival resources in Washington, D.C. area libraries (including
the Library of Congress):
- Dillon, Kenneth J. Scholars' guide to Washington,
D.C. for Central and East European studies: Albania, Austria, Bulgaria,
Czechoslovakia, Germany (FRG & GDR), Greece (Ancient & Modern), Hungary,
Poland, Romania, Switzerland, Yugoslavia. Washington, D.C.: Woodrow
Wilson International Center for Scholars: 1980. [Z 2483 .D54]
- Higbee, Joan Florence. Scholars' guide to Washington,
D.C. for southwest European studies: France, Italy (including Ancient
Rome), Malta, Portugal, Spain, the Vatican. Washington, D.C.: Wilson
Center Press, 1989. [Z 2000 .H5 1989]
- Pitschmann, Louis A. Scholars' guide to Washington,
D.C., for northwest European studies. Washington, D.C.: Woodrow
Wilson International Center for Scholars: Smithsonian Institution Press,
1984. (covers Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Great Britain, Greenland, Iceland,
Ireland, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden) [Z 2551 .P57
1984]
Archival Resources via the World Wide Web
Top of Page
Abbrevations
- ITA : internationale Titelabkürzungen von Zeitschriften,
Zeitungen, wichtigen Handbüchern, Wörterbüchern, Gesetzen,
Institutionen usw. = International title abbreviations of periodicals,
newspapers, important handbooks, dictionaries, laws, institutions etc.
9th ed. München: K.G. Saur, 2003. 3 v. [Ref desk Z 6945 .A2L53 2003]
Top of Page
Universities
& Academies
- The directory of university libraries in Europe.
London, U.K. : Europa Publications, 2000. [Ref desk Z 675 .U5D57]
- The World of learning. London, Europa Publications,
2003.
[Ref desk L 101 .W893]
Top of Page
Compiled by Patti S. Caravello, March 2003
|