Research Resources
Winter 2006
Eudora Loh
Librarian for Latin American and Iberian Studies
eloh@library.ucla.edu (310) 825-1125
|
This webpage is designed to guide beginning graduate students in
Spanish and Portuguese to core bibliographic and reference sources critical for
developing fundamental research skills and information competencies in the
discipline. The listings are by no means exhaustive; rather, they are a starting
point to the vast world of research resources. The guide is generally organized
according the course syllabus. All sources, print or virtual, are either located
in the UCLA Library or are accessible to UCLA students. Some of the sources
point to materials beyond the UCLA campus.
Peruse the websites, newsletters, and journals of professional organizations
and societies to investigate opportunities for conference participation,
funding, employment, and research, as well as membership information and
professional resources.
- Modern Language
Association
Promotes the study and teaching of language and literature.
Provides opportunities for its members to share their scholarly findings and
teaching experiences with colleagues and to discuss trends in the academy.
- American
Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese
Promotes the study
and teaching of Hispanic, Luso-Brazilian, and other related languages,
literatures, and cultures at all educational levels. Through exchange of
pedagogical and scholarly information, encourages heritage and second-language
study.
- Brazilian Studies
Association (BRASA)
Promotes Brazilian studies in all fields,
especially in the humanities and social sciences.
- Cervantes Society of America
Advances the study of the
life and works of Miguel de Cervantes through the promotion of communication
and cooperation among its members and through its publications and annual
meetings.
- Instituto Internacional de Literatura Iberoamericana
Promotes an international awareness of Latin American literature, culture, and criticism through its conferences and publications., .
- Latin American Studies Association
Fosters intellectual discussion, research, and teaching on Latin America, the Caribbean, and its people throughout the Americas, promote the interests of its diverse membership, and encourage civic engagement through network building and public debate.
Top of Page
MLA style is the recommended documentation guideline of the Modern Language Association. It is widely adopted in academia and is used by more than 125 scholarly journals, newsletters and magazines. MLA does not publish its guidelines on the Web. However, there are helpful sites to guide students in the use of citation formats. The MLA guides are available in print in the UCLA Library.
Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 6th ed.
New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2003.
College Library Reference Dictionaries - Shelved At Reference Desk B2369 .G53 2003
YRL Reference Desk LB2369 .G53 2003
Described by MLA as “for high school and undergraduate college students.”
Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing. 2nd ed. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1998.
College Library PN147 .A28 1998
YRL Reference Desk PN147 .A28 1998
Described by MLA as “for graduate students, scholars, and professional writers.”
The following websites provide tips and examples for citing sources using the MLA style.
- Bruin Success With Less Stress
UCLA College Library’s web tutorial on how to avoid plagiarizing and to cite sources responsibly. Though geared to undergraduates, it provides useful tips.
- Research and Documentation Online. Ed. Diana Hacker.
- Writer’s Handbook. University of Wisconsin, Madison.
- Writers’ Workshop. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champagne.
Top of Page
- MLA Directory of Periodicals
A master list of journals and series that are covered in the MLA International Bibliography database. Covers over 5,800 titles journals that publish articles on language, literature, folklore, or pedagogy with some frequency, as well as any series that includes books on those subjects, regardless of the frequency of publication. Provides peer review status of journal and submission information, including time between submission and publication decision and ime between decision and publication.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts Serials Source List
Includes 1,554 serials covered by LLBA. Provides a level-of-coverage rating of core, priority, or selective based on the scope of the material included.
- Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ
Covers 1,989 free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, including 109 journals on languages, literatures, and linguistics. Provides instructions to authors and submission information. Also includes statistics on use and impact factor for many titles.
Top of Page
Journal articles are not individually listed in the UCLA Library Catalog. To find articles, use article databases that provide indexing and abstracts to journal articles that can be searched. Many article databases provide links from citations to full text articles. MLA and LLBA are the most critical resources for literature and language. To identify article databases available to UCLA users, go to Search and Find on the UCLA Library homepage, click on Article Databases, and search by keywords. To browse, select:
MLA International Bibliography
- Indexes journals, dissertations, collected works in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1963 to the present.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts : LLBA
- Abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials in the fields of linguistics, language behavior and related disciplines, as well as books, book chapters, occasional papers, technical reports and dissertations.
Article databases focusing on Latin American Studies:
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Online)
A bibliography and essential guide to scholarly works including books on Latin America, consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.
HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals. Covers articles, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in leading journals published throughout the world. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center.
Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC)
Searches the tables of contents of nearly 1,000 periodicals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America.
Additional disciplinary and interdisciplinary article databases that include the humanities:
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (via ISI Web of Science)
A multidisciplinary database of article citations gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, 1975-present. Search by topic, author, journal title, or cited author (to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify).
FRANCIS
An index to multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, social sciences, economics, religion, the history of art, and literature from 1984 to the present.
Historical Abstracts
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1967.
JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.
Literary Index
Master index to 43 published literary series, including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. The complete text of the materials indexed can be found at the
Literature Resource Center.
Periodicals Archive Online
Index to article literature in more than 4,000 U.S. and foreign periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from 1770-1995, including full text for 200 journal runs.
Project Muse
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.
Top of Page
The following are a selection of core electronic journals covering Spanish, Portuguese, and Latin American literature and linguistics:
- Hispania
Journal of the Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese. Includes articles on pedagogy, literature, linguistics, and technology-assisted language instruction related to the Hispanic and Luso-Brazilian worlds.
v.1(1917)- [Latest 5 years not available online] JSTOR.
- Hispanic Review
Published by the Department of Romance Languages at the University of Pennsylvania on Hispanic literary and cultural studies. Features essays and book reviews on the diverse cultural manifestations of Spain and Latin America, from the medieval period to the present.
v.73(2005)- Project Muse.
v.1(1933)- [Latest 3 years not available online]. JSTOR.
v.1(1933)-v.63(1995). Periodicals Archives Online.
- Journal of Latin American Studies
Discusses and debates the political economies of capitalism, imperialism, and socialism in the Americas.
v.29(1997)- Cambridge.
v.1(1969)- [Latest 5 years not available online] JSTOR.
- Latin American Research Review
The premier interdisciplinary journal that publishes original research and surveys of current research on Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes interdisciplinary offerings in areas such as cultural studies and Latino issues and transnationalism.
v.38(2003)- Project Muse.
v.1(1965)- [Latest 3 years not available online] JSTOR.
v.1(1965)-v.30(1995). Periodicals Archives Online.
- Luso-Brazilian Review
Publishes interdisciplinary scholarship on Portuguese, Brazilian, and Lusophone African cultures. It is the oldest and most prestigious U.S. academic journal in its field, with articles on social science, history, and literature by leading scholars.
v.41(2004)- Project Muse
Print v.1-41(1964-2004) YRL Stacks DP501 .L975 Current issues in Periodicals Stacks
- Mexican Studies / Estudios Mexicanos
Published for the University of California Institute for Mexico and the United States, (UC MEXUS), and the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, provides detailed coverage of Mexico-related topics from a variety of multidisciplinary perspectives and methodologies.
v.18(2002)- Ethnic Newswatch.
v.1(1985)- [Latest 3 years not available online]. JSTOR.
v.17(2001)- Caliber.
For a list of additional electronic journals, go to UCLA Library E-journals.
Top of Page
return to:
UCLA E-Resources
UCLA Library Collections and Internet Resources in the Humanities and Social Sciences
UCLA Young Research Library
UCLA Library
Page created and maintained by Eudora Loh, Latin American and Iberian Bibliographer, (eloh@library.ucla.edu)
and Lukowa Kidima, (lkidima@library.ucla.edu)Last updated:
January 11, 2006
.
You are visitor number
since January 11, 2006.
© Regents of the University of California