UCLA Library Collections and Internet Resources in:

GERMAN STUDIES

 

Photo of Goethe

Subject Specialist for Western European Studies: Katalin Radics
Recommend a Purchase
UCLA Department of Germanic Languages

History of Germanic Collections at the UCLA Library
Primary Sources: Online | CD-ROM | Major Microfilm Sets
Reference Resources: General Works | Article Databases | Disciplinary Databases with some German Materials
Dictionaries, Linguistic Resources | Countries (Official Government Websites) | Libraries and Archives in Germany, Austria and Switzerland
News and Newspapers | Associations, Societies and Institutions | Dissertations

 

Primary Sources

Primary Sources Online

Electronic full texts of literary authors are important new research tools in the areas of philology, and any kind of textual research where finding certain texts and contexts is crucial. The UCLA Library has a large amount of authentic literary and other texts appropriate for systematic research in electronic format.

Digitale Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker im WWW
Full text database of German texts. Includes works of major German literary works as well as historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of. essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background material. It contains all the Deutscher Klassiker Verlag editions except Schiller, Goethe and Wieland. (Complete list of works included)

Schillers Werke im WWW. Nationalausgabe
Electronic version of the definitive Nationalausgabe of Schiller’s works.Click on the link “About Schillers Werke” for completeness information.

back to contents

Primary Sources on CD-ROM

The non-circulating CD-ROM databases are available for searching in the Microform and Media Service, (21653, YRL). Circulating CD-ROMs are either in the stacks or in the SRLF.

Bertolt Brechts Werke: Jubiläumsausgabe auf CD-ROM : ausgewählte Werke in sechs Bänden. PT2603.R397 1999

Goethes Werke auf CD-ROM. Weimarer Ausgabe. PT1891 .C95 1995

Kafkas W erke: kritische Kafka-Ausgabe des S. Fischer Verlages bei Chadwyck-Healey. PT2621.A26 1999

Kant's gesammelte Schriften. B2753 1988

Monumenta Germaniae Historica.
The electronic version of the series is being published in installments. A large part of the 300 volumes are already available on the fifth installment. DD3.M8 E44

The library holds cd-rom editions of the selected works of a number of other German authors (e.g. Theodor Fontane, Heinrich Heine, E.T.A. Hoffmann, G. E. Lessing, Karl Marx, Friedrich Engels, Kurt Tucholsky, etc.) as well.

back to contents

Primary Sources in Major Microfilm Sets

Even in the age of the Internet, some works can only be found on microfilm or in special collections and archives. The following list is a brief selection of the large microfilm set titles UCLA owns in the library. Each set includes a large number of works.

German Books before 1601. SRLF. Includes over 3000 German, Swiss and Austrian printed books from the 15th and 16th centuries. Individual titles of the collection are listed on Melvyl.

Flugschriften des frühen 16. Jahrhunderts (1501-1530). Z240.4 F68

Bibliothek der deutschen Literatur. PT1101 B471. Some 15,000 works by almost 2,500 authors . Individual titles of the collection are listed on the UCLA Library catalog.

Deutsche Zeitschriften des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts . Cooperative acquisition of UC libraries, the set is held at the UC Berkeley library. Please ask for rolls including items you want through ILL. (List of periodical titles: List part 1, List part 2, List Erganzung 1, List Erganzung 2.)

German baroque literature, Harold Jantz collection. PT 1100. G47. Individual titles listed on the UCLA Library catalog.

German and Austrian Drama. SRLF. Guide to the collection: PN1620.H68 G47 1984 (Microform and Media)

Deutsche Kulturzeitschriften des 19. Jahrhunderts : Mikrofiche-Volltextausgabe zu Alfred Estermanns Inhaltsanalytische Bibliographien deutscher Kulturzeitschriften des 19. Jahrhunderts (IBDK). SRLF and YRL PN5203 .D48 2002 Microfiche Contents: Lfg. 1. Deutsches Museum (1851-1867). Telegraph fušr Deutschland (1837-1848) (fiche 1-274) -- Lfg. 2. Die Gartenlaube (1853-1880) (fiche 275-585) -- Lfg. 3. Berliner Conversations-Blatt (1827-1829). Der Freihafen (1838-1844). Hallische Jahrbušcher fušr deutsche Wissenschaft und Kunst (1838-1844). Košnigsberger Literatur-Blatt (1841/42-1845). Phošnix (1835-1838). Frankfurter Museum (1855-1859). Neues Frankfurter Museum (1861). Weimarer Sonntags-Blatt (1854, 1855-1857). Deutsche Roman-Zeitung (1864-1880) (fiche 586-956) -- Lfg. 4. Das Jahrhundert. Deutsches Magazin. Freya. Orion. Deutsche Warte. Der Salon (fiche 957-1297) -- Lfg. 5. Westermanns Monatshefte (1856-1880) (fiche 1298-1498) -- Lfg. 6. Blaštter fušr literarische Unterhaltung (1826-1850).

German Colonial Archives. The German government archive (Bundesarchiv) has microfilmed some two million pages of documents from the German Colonial Office (Reichskolonialamt). CRL .

European Women’s Periodicals. PN 5110 E97 Guide

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Germany, 1930-1939 : foreign affairs.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Germany, 1940-1944 : foreign affairs.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Germany, 1942-1944 : internal affairs.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Germany, internal affairs, 1945-1949 : [edited by Paul Kesaris]

 back to contents

Reference Resources

General Works

Xipolis
The most important German reference works are available online for UCLA users through this database. Works accessible through Xipolis include some 60 works: the 15 volume Brockhaus and a large number of special Brockhaus reference works, a number of Duden reference works including Das große Wörterbuch der deutschen Sprache etc. The list of reference works can be found and selected for searching at the link Die Nachschlagewerke. (Restricted to UCLA)

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences
This page lists those printed resources that help finding periodical contents in the 17 th, 18 th, 19 th, and 20 th centuries.

Österreich Lexikon

Old imprints in electronic format: Johann Heinrich Zedlers grosses vollständliges Universallexikon aller Wissenschaften und Künste – from 1732-1754

German Studies Web: History (Association of College and Research Libraries, Western European Studies Section)

German Studies Web: Literature Resources (Association of College and Research Libraries, Western European Studies Section)

back to contents

Article Databases

Electronic databases are the best tools for finding articles, biographical information, statistical or economic data, and legal information. Some of the databases present and offer for search not only the bibliographic information (author, title, subject etc.) of the articles but the full texts of the articles themselves too. The yellow UC eLinks symbol leads to UCLA or UC holdings of the item retrieved.

If you do not know which database to use for your research needs, ask a librarian or review the selected list of UCLA E-Resources.

The easiest way to access any article database is from the UCLA Library home page, under Search and Find, and E-Resources. Type the name of the database into the search box. Below is a short list of the most useful ones for German studies.

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
Comprehensive bibliography of German literature and language. Includes citations of books, articles, book chapters. (Similar to the MLA.)

IBZ : International Bibliography of Periodical Literature (Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur)
Multilingual database, indexing over 5600 periodicals, including a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent, 1983 to the present.

Elektronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek
You have to know the bibliographic data of the journal and/or article you want to read in order to use this database, because it is searchable only by journal title, not on the article level. It contains 15046 titles, among them 1763 online-only journals, covering all subjects. 4871 journals, the ones with a green light icon, can be accessed free-of-charge.

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes bibliographic data of journal articles, dissertations, collected works in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1963 to the present (MLA search guide).

JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.

Project Muse
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.

FRANCIS
A bibliographic index to multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, social sciences, economics, religion, the history of art and literature from 1984 to the present. Represents a wide range of materials, including serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports. Prepared by the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du CNRS.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: (LLBA)
Abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials in the fields of linguistics, language behavior and related disciplines, as well as books, book chapters, occasional papers, technical reports and dissertations. Many European linguistic journals are also indexed.

Historical Abstracts
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1967.

Periodicals Archives Online (formerly PCI Full Text)
Indexes thousands of periodicals in the social sciences and humanities from 1770-1995, and currently offers full text of articles for 200 complete journal runs.

back to contents

Disciplinary Databases with some German Materials

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES)

Bibliography of the History of Art

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

Inter-Play: An online index to plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals

International Bibliography of Book Reviews
This database contains over one million entries about book reviews from 1985 onwards. It is international (mostly from Europe and the United States) and interdisciplinary and its reviews have been published in more than 6600 academic journals, mainly in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

International Index to the Performing Arts, IIPA Full Text

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

KVINNSAM (Women’s History Department, Gothenburg University)

Literature Resource Center

Sociological Abstracts

back to contents

Dictionaries, Linguistic Resources

German-English, English German Dictionary (Freedic)

Wortschatz Lexikon

Old imprints in electronic format: Adelung Wörterbuch – from 1811

back to contents

Countries (Official Government Websites)

Austria

Germany
German Information Center (in Washington D.C.)

Switzerland

back to contents

Libraries and Archives in Germany, Austria and Switzerland

Die Deutsche Bibliothek – the German National Library

Bibliotheken, Bücher und Berichte – Verzeichnis deutschsprachiger Kataloge und Institutionen

Archives in Germany – Gateway to German Archives

Österreichische Nationalbibliothek – The Austrian National Library

Akademisches Portal Österreich: Bibliotheken – Gateway to Austrian academic libraries

Online-Kataloge des Österreichischen Bibliothekenverbundes – Online catalogs in Austria

Austrian Archives – Gateway to Austrian Archives.

Sweizerische Landesbibliothek – Swiss National Library

Hochschulbibliotheken Schweiz – Gateway to Swiss adacemic libraries

Schweizerisches Bundesarchiv – The Swiss Federal Archives

Schweizerisches Literaturarchiv – Repertorium

back to contents

News and Newspapers

German Information Center (in Washington D.C.)

Newspapers from Austria

Newspapers, Journals and Broadcast News Media from Germany

Newspapers from Switzerland

back to contents

Associations, Societies and Institutions

American Association of Teachers of German

Alexander von Humboldt Schtiftung

DAAD -- Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst

German Studies Association

Goethe Institut

MLA – Modern Language Association

back to contents

Page created and maintained by Katalin Radics, Subject Specialist for Western European Studies
Last updated: May 2006 © Regents of the University of California