UCLA Library Collections and Internet Resources in:

FRENCH STUDIES

 

Arc de Triomphe graphic

Subject Specialist for Western European Studies: Katalin Radics
Recommend a Purchase
UCLA Department of French and Francophone Studies

Highlights of the UCLA French Collection
Primary Sources: Online | CD-ROM | Major Microfilm Sets | Special Collections
Reference Resources: General Works | Article Databases | Scholarly Journals on the Web |Dictionaries | News and Newspapers
French and Francophone Libraries and Archives | Universities and Academic Institutions | Dissertations

 

Primary Sources

Primary Sources Online

Electronic full texts of literary authors are important new research tools in the areas of philology, and any kind of textual research where finding certain texts and contexts is crucial. The UCLA Library has a large amount of authentic literary and other texts appropriate for systematic research in electronic format.

ARTFL
A full text online database of thousands of French texts ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. Searching in ARTFL

Poesie francaise
Searchable database. A selection of French poetry from the Middle Ages to the early 20th century.

EuroDocs, France
Connects to French historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. From the antiquity to the present.

back to contents

Primary Sources on CD-ROM

The non-circulating CD-ROM databases are available for searching in the Microform and Media Service, (21653, YRL). Circulating CD-ROMs are either in the stacks or in the SRLF.

L’atelier historique de la langue française : l’histoire des mots du haut Moyen âge au XIXe siècle.
Ancien et moyen français : Dictionnaire historique de La Curne de Sainte-Palaye--XVIIe siècle : Dictionnaire de Furetière--XVIIIe siècle : Dictionnaire de l’Académie française (1762)--XIXe siècle : Dictionnaire d’Emile Littré--Curiosités françaises de Oudin--Dictionnaire philosophique de Voltaire et compléments--Dictionnaire universel des synonymes de Guizot. PC2625 .A84 1999

Corpus de la littérature médiévale en langue d’oil des origines à la fin du XVe siècle : prose narrative, poésie, théatre PQ1301 .C67 2001

Corpus Montaigne PQ1642.E5 B8 1997

Corpus des oeuvres de philosophie en langue française. [Diskette 1-2] B1802 .C67 1995

Les dictionnaires de l’Académie française.
Dictionnaire de l’Académie françoise, Paris, 1687 -- Grand dictionnaire de l’Académie françoise, Francfort, 1687 -- Grand dictionnaire de l’Académie françoise, Francfort, 1687 -- Dictionnaire de l’Académie françoise dedié au Roy, Paris, 1694-- Nouveau dictionnaire de l’Académie françoise dedié au Roy, Paris, 1718 -- Dictionnaire de l’Académie françoise, Paris, 1740 -- Dictionnaire de l’Académie françoise, Paris, 1762 -- Dictionnaire de l’Académie françoise, Paris, 1798. PC2625 .D57 2000

Dictionnaires des XVIe et XVIIe siècles AG25 .D53 1999

L’Encyclopédie de Diderot et d’Alembert AE25 .E533 2000

Larousse, Pierre: Grand dictionnaire universel du XIXe siècle AE25 .L32 2000

La librarie des ducs de Bourgogne. Z6621.B535 B53 2001

Théâtre du Grand Siècle The works of Corneille, Racine, and Molière. PQ1220 .T44 1996

back to contents

Primary Sources in Major Microfilm Sets

Even in the age of the Internet, some works can only be found on microfilm or in special collections and archives. The following list is a brief selection of the large microfilm set titles UCLA owns in the library. Each set includes a large number of works.

French Books before 1601. Individual titles of the collection are listed on Melvyl. SRLF

French Books 1601-1700. SRLF Z2162 F74 and CRL

French Drama: a Comprehensive Collection of French Plays of the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries. CRL

Archives biographiques françaises CT1003 .A73 2001

French political pamphlets, 1547-1648 SRLF

Sorciers, demonologues, magistrats, theologiens et medicins aux XVIe et XVIIe siècles BF1501 .S67 1975

The World of Port-Royal. Jansenism in the Catholic Church, 17th-18th centuries (Guide) BX4730 .W67

Utopies au siècle des lumières HX806 U865

The French Revolution Research Collection – Les Archives de la Revolution – ed. by Colin Lucas DC141 .F86 1989

French revolutionary pamphlets on microfiche DC141 .F7

Nicolas de Bonneville et le Cercle social, 1787-1800 DC158.8 .N53

D’Holbach et ses amis, 1760-1789 BL2710 .D46

Le Rousseauisme JC179.R9 R685

Corvey-Institut Anti-Napoleon. Schriften--Fürstliche Bibliothek. DC226.2 C67

Freemasonry and antimasonry HS403 .F74

Collection de documents inédits sur l’histoire économique de la révolution française. CRL

Collection de documents relatif à l’histoire de Paris pendant la révolution française. CRL

Les enquêtes des préfets de l’Empire. CRL

Collection on the Revolution of 1848 in France. Newspapers. CRL

Newspapers of the French Revolution of 1848 from the British Library, London, and the British Library Newspaper Library, Colindale, London.
The series captures the British Library's holdings of all newspaper and periodical titles published in France during the revolution of 1848. Coverage continued through the coup d'état in 1851 to the establishment of the Second Empire in 1852. CRL

The Dreyfus Affair in the Making of Modern France DC354 .D882

European Women’s Periodicals (Guide) PN5110 .E97

Confidential US. State Department central files. France: foreign affairs 1945-1949 DC398 .C62 1987

Confidential US. State Department central files. France: foreign affairs 1950-1954 DC398 C63 1987

Confidential US. State Department central files. France: internal affairs 1945-1949 DC398 .C64 1987

Confidential US. State Department central files. France: internal affairs 1950-1954 DC398 .C66 1987

Les Tracts de mai 1968. Bibliotheque nationale de Paris, Service de l’histoire de France. DC414 T473

 back to contents

Primary Sources in Special Collections

The following is a concise selected list of rare and archival materials related to France and held in one of the Special Collections of the UCLA Library:

Marteau Collection. 17th and 18th century fictitious imprints

Children's Book Collection (more than 500 17th-19th century books in French)

Roger Mennevée archive

Charles Boyer French Research Foundation collection, 1939-1950

A Collection of material about the student movement in Paris, 1968

back to contents

Reference Resources

General Works

Gale's Literary Index
Master index to 43 published literary series, including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Most of these publications can be found in the YRL Reference Room.

World Biographical Index
Indexes huge microfiche collection (located in YRL Reference) of short biographical entries from a variety of sources about eminent individuals who lived in North and South America, Western and Central Europe, Australia, New Zealand, and Oceania. Indexes many biographical archives which YRL Reference & Instructional Services has in microfiche. The fiche contains the complete texts of the biographical descriptions, while the Web site indicates birth and death years, occupation, source quoted (archive, fiche-number and page) and bibliographic information about the sources used.

Indexes and guides to West European periodicals in the Humanities and Social Sciences
This page lists those printed resources that help finding periodical contents in journals published in the 17th, 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.

Digitalized catalogues of the manuscript holdings of the Bibliothèque Nationale Française

back to contents

Article Databases

Electronic databases are the best tools for finding articles, biographical information, statistical or economic data, and legal information. Some of the databases present and offer for search not only the bibliographic information (author, title, subject etc.) of the articles but the full texts of the articles themselves too. The yellow UC eLinks symbol leads to UCLA or UC holdings of the item retrieved.

If you do not know which database to use for your research needs, ask a librarian or review the selected list of UCLA E-Resources.

The easiest way to access any article database is from the UCLA Library home page, under Search and Find, and E-Resources. Type the name of the database into the search box. Below is a short list of the most useful ones for French studies.

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes bibliographic data of journal articles, dissertations, collected works in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1963 to the present. (Search guide to MLA International Bibliography and CSA)

FRANCIS
A bibliographic index to multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, social sciences, economics, religion, the history of art and literature from 1984 to the present. Represents a wide range of materials, including serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports. Prepared by the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du CNRS.

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
Single interface to a group of many databases (e.g. MLA International Bibliography, Communication Studies, ERIC, Linguistics and Language Behavior, Political Science, Sociological Abstracts). You can select the ones in which you want to do your searches.

Linguistics and language behavior abstracts : LLBA.
Abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials in the fields of linguistics, language behavior and related disciplines, as well as books, book chapters, occasional papers, technical reports and dissertations. Many foreign linguistic journals are also indexed.

Periodicals Archives Online (formerly PCI Full Text)
Indexes thousands of periodicals in the social sciences and humanities from 1770-1995, and currently offers full text of articles for 200 complete journal runs.

JSTOR
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago.

Project Muse
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Historical Abstracts
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1967.

Corpus de la littérature narrative
A full text database of French literature. It offers a digital library of about 1000 narrative works (novels, tales, short stories), mostly pre-World War I (with the exception of Proust) and focusing on the works of Balzac, Dumas and De Maupassant.

Related Databases With Some French Materials

African Studies
Extensive material on Francophone Africa both in French and English.

Bibliography of the History of Art

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

International Bibliography of Book Reviews
This database contains over one million entries about book reviews from 1985 onwards. It is international (mostly from Europe and the United States) and interdisciplinary and its reviews have been published in more than 6600 academic journals, mainly in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

Inter-Play: an online index to plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Literature Resource Center

Sociological Abstracts

back to contents

Scholarly Journals on the Web

Persée
Portal of scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities. Journals include Annales, Bibliothèque de l'École des chartes, L'Homme, Revue française de science politique.

Revues.org
Portal of scholarly journals in international studies, social sciences and humanities.

Cairn
Portal of scholarly journals in the social sciences.

back to contents

Dictionaries

French-English Dictionary (from ARTFL Project), 75,000 terms.

Larousse, Pierre: Grand dictionnaire universel du XIXe siècle -- Two searchable CD-ROM diskettes AE 25 L32 2000

Le Grand Robert Electronique -- The CD-ROM is the electronic version of the nine-volume "Grand Robert de la Langue Francaise." PC2625.R54 d1 1994

Trésor de la Langue Française (from ARTFL Project), the Jean Nicot dictionary from 1606.

back to contents

News and Newspapers

Edicom Presse (short articles on international and Swiss news)

France Presse Online (a service from AFP)

Le Monde

Le Monde Diplomatique

Revue de presse quotidienne de Radio France Internationale

L'Humanité

Liberation

Radio France Internationale (daily news)

back to contents

French & Francophone Libraries & Archives

La Bibliothèque nationale de France

Archives de France

Bibliothèque Royale de Belgique

Bibliothèque nationale Suisse

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

back to contents

Universities & Academic Institutions

UCLA French Department

UC Berkeley Romance Collections

University of Chicago, Romance Languages Resource Page

Western European Studies Section, ACRL

UCLA Library Collections and Internet Resources in the Humanities and Social Sciences

UCLA Young Research Library

UCLA Libraries

back to contents

Page created and maintained by Katalin Radics, Subject Specialist for Western European Studies
Last updated: May 2006 © Regents of the University of California