- UCLA Library Catalog
- Melvyl
(UC Libraries catalog)
- WorldCat
- Article Databases
- Reference Collection Online
- Online Materials
- Purchase
Recommendation
- Interlibrary
Loan
-
- Campus
Libraries
- UCLA Library Home
- UCLA Home
- YRL Home
-
-
|
|
The following list is intended to lead you to
sources, which provide useful information on a variety of issues relating
to Mesoamerican Literature. It illustrates the types and variety of sources
that are available. Unless otherwise noted, these titles are located in
Reference & Instructional Services (RIS)
of the Young Research Library. Additional resources may be found in the
YRL Stacks, Special
Collections and the Arts
Library. Many other general reference sources on the Internet may be
reached from the Reference
Collection Online.
The UCLA Library uses the Library of Congress Subject
Headings (LCSH) and the Medical Subject Headings
(MeSH). LCSH does not use the term CODEX or CODICES, it uses the term MANUSCRIPTS.
To find books about or on Mesoamerican Literature, try searching under the
following subject headings in the UCLA Library Catalog:
- aztec mythology
- aztec women
- aztecs folklore
- aztecs legends
- aztecs religion
- illumination of books and manuscripts mexico
- indian literature mexico languages texts
- indians of Central America social life and customs
- indians of Mexico social life and customs
- manuscripts maya
- manuscripts mexican facsimiles
- manuscripts mexican pre columbian
- manuscripts mixtec
- manuscripts nahuatl
- manuscripts tlapanec
- manuscripts zapotec
- mayan literature
- mayan women
- mexico antiquities
- mexico history conquest 1519-1540
- nahuatl literature
- nahuatl poetry
- mixtec literature history and criticism
- sex role Mexico
top of page
- Bleznick, Donald William. A Sourcebook
for Hispanic Literature and Language. 3rd., Lanham Md.: Scarecrow
Press, 1995. (Z 2695 .A2B61 1995/RIS Reading Room)
- Guide to Reference Books.
Ed. by Robert Balay, 11th ed. Chicago: American Library Association,
1996. (Z 1035 .M88g 1996/Core RIS Desk)
- Latin America and the Caribbean:
A Critical Guide to Research Sources. New York: Greenwood, 1992.
(Z 1601 .L3225 1992/RIS Desk)
- Woodbridge, Hensley Charles. Guide
to Reference Works for the Study of the Spanish Language and Literature
and Spanish American Literature. 2nd ed. New York: MLA, 1997.
Series: Selected Bibliographies in Language and Literature, 5.
(Z 2695 .A2W66 1997/RIS Desk)
top of page
- Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin
America and the Caribbean. 2nd ed. Cambridge {England} ; New
York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 1992.
(F 1406 .C36 1992/RIS Reading Room)
- Cambridge History of Latin America.
Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1984- .
(F 1410 .C1834 1984/RIS Reading Room)
- Cambridge History of Latin American
Literature. 3v. Cambridge ; New York, NY : Cambridge University
Press, 1996. (PQ 7081 .A1C35 1996/RIS Desk)
- Diccionario de Literatura Espanola
E Hispanoamericana. Dirigido por Ricardo Gullon. 2v. Madrid :
Alianza Editorial, 1993. (PQ 6006 .D6 1993/RIS
Desk)
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History
and Culture. New York: Scribner's/Simon & Schuster Macmillan.
1996. 5 vols. (F 1406 .E53 1996/RIS Reading Room)
- Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature.
London {England}; Chicago, Ill. : Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997. (PQ
7081 .A1E56 1997/RIS Reading Room)
- Handbook of Latin American Literature.
Compiled by David William Foster. 2nd. Ed. New York: Garland Pub., 1992.
(PQ 7081 .A1H36 1992/RIS Reading Room)
- Kanellos, Nicolás. Chronology
of Hispanic-American history: from pre-Columbian times to the present.
New York : Gale Research, 1995. (E 184 .S75C49
1995/RIS Desk)
- Muser, Curt. Facts and Artifacts
of Ancient Middle America: A Glossary of Terms and Words used in the
Archaeology and Art History of Pre-Columbian Mexico and Central America.
New York: Dutton, 1978. (F 1219 .M972f/RIS Desk)
- South America, Central America and
the Caribbean. London: Europa, 1985- .
(F 1406.5 .S68/RIS Desk)
top of page
- Anthropology Plus
- Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource
Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological
Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus
provides indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited
works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological,
and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material
culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index covers core periodicals
internationally in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals
from the late 19th century to the present.
- ATLA Religion Database
- Indexes journal articles, essays, and book reviews from
international titles and multi-author works in the field of religion
and theology from 1949 to the present.
- ArtAbstracts
- Index to articles in art, art history, archaeology,
architecture, city planning, design, graphics, museology, textiles,
etc. from 1984 to the present.
- Art Index Retrospective
- Index to articles in art, art history, archaeology,
architecture, city planning, design, graphics, museology, textiles,
etc. from 1929-1984.
- Arts & Humanities
Citation Index
- Online access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social
Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index
(AHCI), with collective coverage of over 8,000 scholarly journals from
1975 to the present.
- Chicano
Database
- Indexes all types of materials in the areas of Mexican-American
topics from 1967 to the present and, since 1992, materials on other
Latino cultures.
- Dance
Collection Catalog (New York Public Library).
- Lists works about all forms of dance, from all cultures,
in print and other media. It includes materials in many languages and
serves as an index to an international range of dance periodicals.
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete
- Indexes periodicals in all subject areas from 1980 to
the present, both popular & scholarly. Includes scholarly journals,
news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text.
- GenderWatch
- Contains the full text of publications that focus on
the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas from the
1970's to the present. Provides in-depth coverage of subjects that are
uniquely central to women's lives.
- Handbook of Latin
American Studies (HLAS Online)
- Indexes scholarly works on Latin America from 1935 to
the present, covering social sciences and humanities in alternating
years .
- Also available in print (Z 1601
.H19L/Abstracts & Indexes Table)
- Hispanic American
Periodicals Index (HAPI Online)
- Many articles are not in English.
- Also Available in print: (Z 1605
.H21/RIS Abstracts & Indexes)
- Earlier coverage in: Index to Latin
American Periodicals, 1961 1971, (Z 1601
.I38/RIS Abstracts & Indexes) and Index
to Latin American Periodical Literature and Supplements, 1929
1965. (Z 1601 .I379/RIS Abstracts & Indexes)
- Historical Abstracts
- Indexes articles, books, dissertations about all aspects
of world history since 1450 except for the United States.
- JSTOR
- Complete text and index of core journals in the social
sciences & humanities from their starting dates to about 5 years
ago.
- LLBA
(Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts)
- Indexes and provides abstracts for journal articles
in linguistics, language behavior and related disciplines, 1973 to the
present.
- MLA
International Bibliography
- Indexes journals, dissertations, collected works in
the fields of literature, folklore, and linguistics from 1963 to the
present.
- Periodicals Contents
Index
- An electronic index to the contents of thousands of
periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first
issues to 1995. Every article is indexed and there are links to full-text
in JSTOR.
- Project Muse
- Full-text recent volumes of over 100 scholarly journals
in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
- Women's Studies
International
- Combined access to several women's studies databases
from 1972 to the present, including Women Studies Abstracts, Women's
Studies Database, POPLINE, and Women of Color. Covers feminism, history,
ethnic studies, health, social sciences, U.S. and worldwide.
top of page
- Bernal, Ignacio. Bibliografia de
Arqueologia y Etnografia: Mesoamerica y Norte de Mexico, 1514-1960.
Mexico: Instituto Nacional de Antropologia e Historia, 1962. Series:
Memorias del Instituto Nacional de Antropoligia e Historia,
7. (Z 1209 .B45d/RIS Reading Room)
- Kendall, Aubyn. Art and Archaeology
of Pre-Columbian Middle America: An Annotated Bibliography of works
in English. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1977.
(Z 1208 .M4K33a/RIS Reading Room)
top of page
Many book reviews published since 1988 may be identified in EBSCO Academic Search Complete.
- Book Review Digest. New York:
Wilson, 1905- . (Z 1219 .B64/Book Review
Indexes)
- Book Review Index. Detroit:
Gale, 1965- . (Z 1035 .A1B65/Book Review
Indexes)
- Combined Retrospective Index to
Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886 - 1974. Arlington, Va.:
Carrollton Press, 1979. (Z 1035 .A1C65/Book Review
Indexes)
- Guia a las Resenas de Libros de
y Sobre Hispanoamerica: A Guide to Reviews of Books From and About Hispanic
America. 1960/64 - 1984.
(Z 1035 .A1G94/Book Review Indexes)
top of page
- Aguilera Garcia, Maria del Carmen. Codices
de Mexico. Mexico, D.F.: Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnologia,
2001. (F 1219.5 .A35 2001/RIS Reading Room)
- Carlyon, Richard. Guide to Gods
and Goddesses. New York: Morrow, 1982.
(BL 473 .C37 1982/RIS Reading Room.)
- Encyclopedia of Religion.
New York, NY: Macmillan, c1987. 16 v.
(BL 31 .E46 1987/RIS Reading Room)
- Mythologies. Compiled by
Yves Bonnefoy. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1991. 2 v. (BL
311 .D513 1991/RIS Reading Room)
- Read, Kay Almere. Handbook of Mesoamerican
Mythology. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2000. (F
1219.3 .R38R42 2000/RIS Reading Room)
- Traditional Storytelling Today:
An International Sourcebook. Edited by Margaret Read MacDonald.
Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1999.
(GR 72 .T73 1999/RIS Reading Room)
top of page
|