Libraries and Collections
Librarian of the Year

The Librarians Association of the University of California, Los Angeles (LAUC-LA) invites nominations for its 2014 Librarian of the Year Award. The deadline for nominations is Monday, March 3, 2014.

2014 marks the 20th anniversary of this award. To read about the previous recipients and their accomplishments, please see the LAUC-LA Web page devoted to the LAUC-LA Librarian of the Year Award.

This award recognizes excellence in librarianship that furthers the teaching and research mission of UCLA and responds to the intellectual, informational, and cultural needs of the university community. Candidates should embody one or more of the following: creativity, innovation, courage, leadership, or scholarship.

A candidate should be nominated for a specific contribution made during his/her employment over the past twelve to eighteen months, rather than for overall career achievement. All UCLA librarians employed fifty percent time or more can be nominated.

To submit a nomination, use the online nomination form or the Microsoft Word form.  Supporting documentation can be submitted to strengthen a nomination; strong documentation increases a candidate’s chances of winning.  Nominations and supporting materials will be kept strictly confidential.

Supporting documentation may include letters of support from faculty, staff, other librarians, or students. Letters should describe what the nominee has accomplished and how it has benefited the author and the university. Documentation may also include Web sites related to the nominee’s work, citations to publications, descriptions of research, media coverage, or publicity materials such as brochures. Please send supporting documentation to Michael Oppenheim by email or by campus mail to E202 Rosenfeld Management Library, mailcode 146002.

Nominations and supporting materials will be kept strictly confidential until the award recipient has been announced. Following this announcement, the committee will send a letter to each nominee regarding her/his consideration for this award, with a summary of points supporting the nomination.

If you have questions or would like more information, please contact Michael Oppenheim, by email or by phone at 310.825.0769.

2014 Librarian of the Year Award Committee

  • Michael Oppenheim, Chair
  • Iman Dagher
  • Cheryl Kelly Fischer
  • Faculty Representative: Prof. Linda Sarna, Immediate Past Chair, Academic Senate

LAUC is the University of California’s primary organization for professional librarian and governance affairs.